Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I NEED HELP!! The cookies do not harden for me, they stay soft. Any advice on what I may be doing wrong??? I left them cool on racks and then placed them into tightly covered containers, why aren't they getting hard for me?? Someone please help me with this, have ruined so many batches of these already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The batter is delicious, but I can't get them to crisp up. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I'm following the recipe, and cooking them to a golden brown, but they stay soft. Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Norriton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is the pizzelle recipe that my family has used for years! I'm glad to see it here! I do use melted butter instead of margarine, but otherwise make mine exactly as written in this recipe. These are light and delicious! Make sure to sift the flour and baking powder together before adding - it makes the pizzelles lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This recipe had a great flavor but failed to state the importance of sifing the flour or the cookies will be heavy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
THis is a wonderful recipe for crisper pizzelles. I prefer this texture to the softer kind - it doesn't get any better. I use butter and also sift - it makes a difference in the texture for sure. You could also put in a bit more anise. grazie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I got 7 and 1/2 dozen pizzelles out of this recipe. I added 2 and 1/2 teaspoons of Anise Seed along with the Anise extract. Then I varied the recipe by substituting the Anise extract with 3 tablespoons of Vanilla extract and I added 1/4 cup of Hershey's unsweetened cocoa powder to the sifted flour to make chocolate pizzelles. I got 7 and 1/2 dozen of those as well. I will definately keep this recipe to use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very good, I used butter and used pure vanilla extract instead of anise, but kept to the same measurements. I have an electric iron that makes 4 at a time so to make it easy on my self I put the dough in a pastry bag, and then just squeezed out the right amount, this makes it very simple and controls the amount that you use to make even cookies. Each iron is different and you need to adjust the time and the color you want, after a few days of curing the cookies, I now know that for my iron what color means done and for me it is a very light color because my iron makes them so thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Fantastic. My Italian inlaws like them better than their own! I use vanilla instead of anise - just personal preference and then dust them with powdered sugar. Addendum: I use real unsalted butter (not margarine) and a good real vanilla and I have never had a problem with them not crisping up and have never had leftovers! I have made this recipe dozens of times over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The ingredients in this recipe are the same as mine, but I use butter. My recipe came from an elderly Italian woman who made the BEST pizzelles! My instructions say to sift the flour and baking powder....add up to 3/4 c. water to thin, if necessary....batter should be thick, but fluid enough that it will ribbon off a spatula and hold it's shape...bake until steam subsides but doesn't stop. Another instruction is to cool on paper towels...can put in a 200 degree oven to crisp further.....if using anise extract, use a 1 oz. bottle. Oh, and the ingredients say - 2 T. Anisette or 1-1/2 t. Anise oil. I use the oil and often add some anise seeds to it. Always get compliments on my pizzelles!! (and I'm Irish! LOL) This recipe will make about 100 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Awesome! Been making these for years and they are going back on my cookie tray again this year at Christmas. I tend to like vanilla and lemon flavoring so I usually add that. I never use margarine, only butter. For best results sift the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States