Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is an excellent cookie recipe. It WILL work fine as stated; however, it was just a tad too sweet for me. I would drop 1/2 c sugar and add a 1/2 tsp anise (my preference). Also, SIFT the flour before mixing it in. I had some lumps, and I did have to add 1/4 c water to thin it. Otherwise, you will be very pleased!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used this recipe to the "T" ... They came out excellent!! This was my first time making pizzelles and you really have to get a feel for the iron as for the amount you spoon in and the time you leave pressed. The more I made ... the better they got. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
If your pizzelles do not harden up, blame it on the humidity. You must make pizzelles on a dry day. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Yummy AND crispy. Several people have commented that their cookies were NOT crispy. The problem isn’t the recipe but in how you cool the cookies. Place them on something like a wood cutting board as it does not conduct heat or hold in the steam the way a pan will. I tried both methods today and discovered a big difference! Also, cookies should be 100% cool before you stack them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Like many others, my cookies did not harden. I like my pizzelles they way they are supposed to be.......crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
YUM!!!! I mix up the flavors at times ... vanilla instead of anise, or almond extract. Sometimes add a lil cocoa in place of flour :o) thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The ingredients in this recipe are the same as mine, but I use butter. My recipe came from an elderly Italian woman who made the BEST pizzelles! My instructions say to sift the flour and baking powder....add up to 3/4 c. water to thin, if necessary....batter should be thick, but fluid enough that it will ribbon off a spatula and hold it's shape...bake until steam subsides but doesn't stop. Another instruction is to cool on paper towels...can put in a 200 degree oven to crisp further.....if using anise extract, use a 1 oz. bottle. Oh, and the ingredients say - 2 T. Anisette or 1-1/2 t. Anise oil. I use the oil and often add some anise seeds to it. Always get compliments on my pizzelles!! (and I'm Irish! LOL) This recipe will make about 100 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Best recipe for pizzelles I've ever made. I sub'd vanilla for the anise because of preference. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These came out delicious, very crisp so I don't know why some people had problems with them staying soft. I used butter instead of margarine because I just don't use margarine for baking. While they were cooking, my husband came in the kitchen and said "something smells like my childhood" (he's Italian). He said they tasted just like the ones his mother used to make. I have a Salton electric pizzelle baker and the only disappointment is that the designs were very faint so they don't look very pretty. Machine directions said 90 seconds but that was too long, about 75 seconds was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States