Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These came out delicious, very crisp so I don't know why some people had problems with them staying soft. I used butter instead of margarine because I just don't use margarine for baking. While they were cooking, my husband came in the kitchen and said "something smells like my childhood" (he's Italian). He said they tasted just like the ones his mother used to make. I have a Salton electric pizzelle baker and the only disappointment is that the designs were very faint so they don't look very pretty. Machine directions said 90 seconds but that was too long, about 75 seconds was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
By far the absolute best pizzelle recipe I've added to my collection of favorites. Everyone loves this cookie, dough is great to work with. Also was asked to bake for an authentic Italian 80th birthday celebration and these were a favorite of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I've made pizzelles for about 30 years now (Mom always made them for Christmas). Since I hate anise, she always added vanilla butternut flavoring and I still do to this day. I think it tastes great! Something different to try if you don't like anise and vanilla isn't quite enough flavor. Also, my iron must be super hot as mine cook in 10 seconds. Any longer and they burn. All irons are different, so experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Ah, pizzelles... how do I love thee! This recipe is very good and pretty standard for pizzelles. Definitely use butter instead of margarine, and sift the flour. I've modified this recipe by substituting almond extract for the anise and adding 1/4 cup finely chopped almonds. Also, for chocolate pizzelles, substitute vanilla extract for the anise and 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder for 1/4 cup of the flour. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made these for Christmas, and they were the best Pizzelles I've ever tasted. They were light and crispy. Best of all, they didn't stick to the Pizzelle iron at all. I followed the recipe exactly, and they were perfect. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA REALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I never understood why anyone would drop $$ to buy a press that only makes a certain type of cookie, until I had the good fortune of trying one. Oh my goodness, just about the best dang cookie I've ever eaten. So good, that I had to go buy one at Bed Bath and Beyond. I do like them better using vanilla in place of the anise though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were the best I've ever made. The thicker batter was perfect in my pizzelle baker that tends to make the cookies very thin. Light crispy and perfect with coffee or tea. Can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great recipe and nice & crisp! I, too, used melted butter and feel the anise extract was just the right amount for our taste. As suggested by another reviewer, I trimmed the edges with kitchen scissors and they are "picture perfect". After trying other recipes over the past 40 years this will become my standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Awesome recipe. Mine were done in 60 seconds. If I had waited the full 90, they would have been burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States