Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
LOVE it! I halfed the recipe so I could make some almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Warriors Mark, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have made numerous pizzelles always searching for the perfect taste...I finally found them. Excellent and most authentic pizzelle yet. However, I made a couple of changes...I use butter, I add almond extract and one teaspoon graded orange peel. They are light and crispy...Mine never turn out soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
1. These cookies are outstanding. This will be my permanent recipe. Adjustments: used real unsalted butter instead of margarine and used vanilla in place of anise (personal taste). 2. I'm not sure about the people who had 'soft' cookies- mine crisped up beautifully. My only idea is to make sure that you use an electic mixer for the eggs and sugar and make sure to beat long enough (when I thought they were 'fluffy' I kept going for a couple of more minutes). I usually skip sifting the flour, but I didn't for this recipe. Definitely sift. 3. The trickiest part for me is always figuring out the right amount of batter and the right cooking time. For my iron, a full tablespoon (measuring spoon) of batter and 1 min 12 seconds made beautiful cookies. 4. There was a little 'overhang' around the edges of some of the cookies- use kitchen shears to cut off any extra to make perfectly round pizzelles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These were very light, crisp, and flavorful. I have a few tips that really helped make my pizzelles a big hit. 1) SIFT flour before you measure it out. 2) Mix eggs and sugar until very light and fluffy. 3) I added 1 1/2 tsp Anise seeds in addition to the stated anise extract. 4) Use butter. They come off the iron soft but as they cool on the rack they crisp up nice. I will definitely make these again. So easy and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Not much to report on these guys - followed the recipe exactly & doubled it. The cookies turned out great & exactly how I remember making them as kids. Nice & light, with good flavor. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
For those having trouble for them crisping, I always use 4 cups of flour, and instead of margarine, 1 cup vegetable oil. I've never had a problem with them not being crisp and delicate. Also, if you HATE anise like me, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract will do nicely in its stead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe with one exception, YOU MUST USE REAL BUTTER if you want your cookies to crisp. If you are looking for a fluffier softer cookie margarine is fine but then you will not be able to shape them in to cones, bowls or tubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made 1/2 recipe only. I just made this recipe with orange emulsion and they came out delicious. I used real butter. Got 32 pizzelles. They came out soft, but then they crisped perfectly after placed on cookie rack. ( When they cooled.) Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is a great traditional pizzelle recipe. My husband requests that I make these for every Christmas. It is best to let the eggs get to room temperature before beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
ok but my tradional family recipe is better. by the way you need to make really thin cookies to get it to harden. its like that for all pizzelle recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little ed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States