Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I used two bottles plus another teaspoon or so of anise flavoring, but we like them with a lot of flavor. This recipe is just like my dad makes. For Christmas, he puts red and green food coloring in the batter and makes them in those different colors - really pretty. These also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is the exact recipe my familt uses when we make pizzelles. We like soft pizzelles and this recipe allows them to stay softer rather than crunchy. My grandmother was the only one who knew how to keep them crunchy because that is her preference. I use melted butter, and a full bottle of anise along with a tsp of anise oil. It sounds like too much, but after they are cooked you will notice how much more flavor they have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfmenchi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe turned out perfect. Just like I was looking for. For those of you whose pizzelles were not crisp, make sure you are using butter and not margarine. Some margarines have alot of water added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent! This is the old recipe my family uses also. However, I add vanilla extract to mine. It is also easy to replace the anise with any flavor extract for a variety of tastes. (I use approx the same amount for any extract.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The batter is delicious, but I can't get them to crisp up. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I'm following the recipe, and cooking them to a golden brown, but they stay soft. Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Norriton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Just by looking at it, it seems really good. I don't have a pizzelle iron though. Would a waffle maker do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I am a first time user with a pizzelle maker, I got a Cuisinart on E Bay really cheap and thought I would start with this recipe. The recipe was so easy, I used butter instead of margargine and vanilla and a little lemon. the only problem was getting used to the parameters of the iron. But I did CHEAT, and use scissors to cut around the edges while they were still warm and this gave them nice crisp edges. I cooled on a cookie rack, the only way to get them perfectly flat and then sprinkled with confectioners sugar. My family loved them and I really liked the Pizzelle maker. It was easy to use and fun!!! will make them again! Any ideas for fillings??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
After receiving a pizzelle maker at my bridal shower, I went on a mission looking for a good, traditional recipe. On closer inspection I realized that EVERY RECIPE ON HERE IS THE SAME!! At least for the anise and other plain-flacored versions on here, the recipe is IDENTICAL in ratio of sugar-flour-butter-egg, etc. The only difference is the size of the batch, ranging from a 12, 6, or 3 egg size, and the amount of flavoring, which varies to taste. Reviews saying this was the same as the recipe that comes with the pizzelle machine dashed my hopes of a "traditional" recipe, although the one variation I did see was a few (including an old recipe I was given) that left out the baking soda but required the dough to rest. My impatience always wins! As for the recipe itself, I found it worked quite well. They turn out crisp and delicious (I use 1T anise extract, 1Tvanilla and 1/2t almond for a 3 egg size batch, which makes about 4 doz) Don't leave your iron while they are cooking!! They brown quickly and the "cook til there's no more steam" rule never worked for me. They are also rather soft immediately after removing from the iron but crisp up fast so you'll want to lay them flat as soon as possible, preferably on a rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was excellent! nice flavor, and was nice and crisp. worth making again, but like some other reviews, and going to put anise oil in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Putting pizzelles into an airtight container will cause them to soften. Instead, after cooling, try wrapping them in aluminum foil in stacks of 8 or store them in a cookie tin. Hope this works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States