Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I made these for Christmas, and they were the best Pizzelles I've ever tasted. They were light and crispy. Best of all, they didn't stick to the Pizzelle iron at all. I followed the recipe exactly, and they were perfect. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA REALE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I never understood why anyone would drop $$ to buy a press that only makes a certain type of cookie, until I had the good fortune of trying one. Oh my goodness, just about the best dang cookie I've ever eaten. So good, that I had to go buy one at Bed Bath and Beyond. I do like them better using vanilla in place of the anise though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These were the best I've ever made. The thicker batter was perfect in my pizzelle baker that tends to make the cookies very thin. Light crispy and perfect with coffee or tea. Can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great recipe and nice & crisp! I, too, used melted butter and feel the anise extract was just the right amount for our taste. As suggested by another reviewer, I trimmed the edges with kitchen scissors and they are "picture perfect". After trying other recipes over the past 40 years this will become my standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Awesome recipe. Mine were done in 60 seconds. If I had waited the full 90, they would have been burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My only complaint is that this recipe made way more cookies than I had anticipated. 18 servings? Only if a serving is five cookies each. Otherwise, this recipe rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great recipe and lovely flavor. For those who's cookie wont crisp you need to give the cookie more time. I think pizzelles are better eaten the next day. I place a piece of wax paper between each cookie after they ARE COMPLETELY COOL and then loosely wrap a stack of the cookies in one large piece of wax paper. Meaning they are not totally air tight. The next day the cookies have crisped up just right. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Definitely not enough Anise flavoring... I ended up adding the folowing : 2 additl tblspns of Anise 1 tblspn of Vanilla Extract 1 teaspon of Cinnammon and I still feel like something was missing. I did sift the flour with the baking powder and they got nice and crispy. I'll probably use this recipe again in the future, but I'm open to suggestions on additional ingredients to try. It was definitely missing something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I thought this was the closest to the recipe I was looking for,which uses a dozen eggs and oil instead of margarine or butter.I use oil of anise which gives the cookie a stronger anise flavor because the alcohol doesn't burn out as it does with the flavoring.A trick to keeping them crisp is to try not to make them on a rainy or humid day and like my grandmother did,she stored them in a brown paper bag or in a card board box never stored or wrapped air tight.Oh!! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I use a little extra anise and whole grain flour and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States