Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I just made these for the first time. They were perfect! I wanted two different flavors so here is what I did. I waited until the end of completely making the batter before adding the flavor (anise). I split the dough in half. I added 1 tbls of anise extract AND anise seed to one batch and to the other batch I added 1 tbls of almond extract and you know those honey coated almonds that come in a little bag near the bagged salad in produce section of the supermarket? I took about 1/4 of a cup and ground them down a little smaller. I added those to the almond extract batter. Oh wow. I have two amazing pizzelle batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is the exact recipe I have used for 40 years. My mom let my sisters and me make these at Christmas time. We always doubled it, everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie-0-Toole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe. I made two batches substituting vanilla extract for the anise in one and lemon extract for anise in the other. As other reviewers suggested, I sifted my dry ingredients. I shaped some of the warm pizzelles around a small wood cylinder to freeze and pipe with filling for future use and I shaped a few others around a small bowl to be used as dessert cups for later use. I cooled these all on a wire rack and they were perfectly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HerMajestyTheChef
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I used butter instead of margarine and sifted the flour very well. My pizzelles were still very thick and gummy. I added a half stick soften butter to the dough- blended well... still too thick. I added about TBSP vegetable oil... then poured in some more sugar hoping it would caramelize a little. Oh yes, and about a TBSP vanilla extract. Still too thick. Finally I poured in 1/4 cup warm water. I realized at this point I was fooling with it too much. I finished off the whole batch, allowing them to brown more than I initially wanted hoping it would help crisp. In the end, I got pizelles that are about twice as thick as needed, only slightly crisp, but nice tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
A group of us were giving a bridal shower at school and decided on a sundae bar. I used my pizzelle maker to create 4 delicious flavors of ice cream bowls, made like waffle cones bowls, creating 105 bowls. This review is for the ‘Pizzelles II’ – I made them into strawberry flavored cookies/bowls by changing the extract. The batter for this was quite thin and I had to be very careful when forming the bowls, although the broken ones tasted wonderful. I also rolled some of them and sprinkled with powdered sugar to use for a Girls Night Out dinner. They were a hit with that group. I got 60 cookies from this recipe and it took 40 seconds per batch. The other recipes were: ‘Italian Pizzelles’ ‘Pizzelles III’ and a personal recipe from ‘What’s for dinner, mom?.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was the first time I made pizzelles. Couldn't seem to get the right amount of mixture to put on the pizzelle iron. It would ooze out the sides or there wasn't enough. Hopefully next time I will get it right. I used butter, left out the anise extract & added 3 Tbls. Vanilla extract. The Grandkids & adults all loved them. Next time I will make them using the anise extract. Made about 4 dozen I think, they kept disappearing off the cooling racks. Takes time cooking them but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were the first Pizzelles I made. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
You have to let pizzelles set over night out before you can store them in a box or Tupperware to get hard if you place them into a container to soon they will never get hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
great recipe! used the suggestions from other people to sift the flour/baking soda. I also used a plastic bag to squeeze the batter onto the pizzelle iron, (that worked awesome) It made about 50 cookies. I did have to add some water because the batter was really thick. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Prefer lemon extract and a tad more sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States