Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is almost like my family's recipe, except I used vegetable shortening melted. It gives a more crispy "cookie' than butter. I gave this recipe 4 stars because it had too much baking powder. I made 1/2 batch with 2 tsp. baking powder. I had trouble keeping the cookie thin & crispy. 2nd batch I used 1 tsp. Made for a nice crispy cookie.This is photo with 1/2 the amount of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! The pizzelli come out nice and crisp. Only substitution I made was to replace anise with vanilla extract. I also sifted the flour. I use two different types of pizzelli irons and to make sure the pizzelles come out thin and crispy, I apply the batter then shut and hold the iron closed for 10 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I just made these for the first time. They were perfect! I wanted two different flavors so here is what I did. I waited until the end of completely making the batter before adding the flavor (anise). I split the dough in half. I added 1 tbls of anise extract AND anise seed to one batch and to the other batch I added 1 tbls of almond extract and you know those honey coated almonds that come in a little bag near the bagged salad in produce section of the supermarket? I took about 1/4 of a cup and ground them down a little smaller. I added those to the almond extract batter. Oh wow. I have two amazing pizzelle batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is the exact recipe I have used for 40 years. My mom let my sisters and me make these at Christmas time. We always doubled it, everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe. I made two batches substituting vanilla extract for the anise in one and lemon extract for anise in the other. As other reviewers suggested, I sifted my dry ingredients. I shaped some of the warm pizzelles around a small wood cylinder to freeze and pipe with filling for future use and I shaped a few others around a small bowl to be used as dessert cups for later use. I cooled these all on a wire rack and they were perfectly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HerMajestyTheChef
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I used butter instead of margarine and sifted the flour very well. My pizzelles were still very thick and gummy. I added a half stick soften butter to the dough- blended well... still too thick. I added about TBSP vegetable oil... then poured in some more sugar hoping it would caramelize a little. Oh yes, and about a TBSP vanilla extract. Still too thick. Finally I poured in 1/4 cup warm water. I realized at this point I was fooling with it too much. I finished off the whole batch, allowing them to brown more than I initially wanted hoping it would help crisp. In the end, I got pizelles that are about twice as thick as needed, only slightly crisp, but nice tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
A group of us were giving a bridal shower at school and decided on a sundae bar. I used my pizzelle maker to create 4 delicious flavors of ice cream bowls, made like waffle cones bowls, creating 105 bowls. This review is for the ‘Pizzelles II’ – I made them into strawberry flavored cookies/bowls by changing the extract. The batter for this was quite thin and I had to be very careful when forming the bowls, although the broken ones tasted wonderful. I also rolled some of them and sprinkled with powdered sugar to use for a Girls Night Out dinner. They were a hit with that group. I got 60 cookies from this recipe and it took 40 seconds per batch. The other recipes were: ‘Italian Pizzelles’ ‘Pizzelles III’ and a personal recipe from ‘What’s for dinner, mom?.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was the first time I made pizzelles. Couldn't seem to get the right amount of mixture to put on the pizzelle iron. It would ooze out the sides or there wasn't enough. Hopefully next time I will get it right. I used butter, left out the anise extract & added 3 Tbls. Vanilla extract. The Grandkids & adults all loved them. Next time I will make them using the anise extract. Made about 4 dozen I think, they kept disappearing off the cooling racks. Takes time cooking them but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were the first Pizzelles I made. They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
You have to let pizzelles set over night out before you can store them in a box or Tupperware to get hard if you place them into a container to soon they will never get hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States