Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
i want to make these as they are a favorite but I don't have the iron. Has anyone tried them in a waffle iron? And what iron brand do you recommend please. Thanks for any input. Jojo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jojo Mentzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
First time I made these, INCREDIBLE.......recipe is a keeper......wanted to make these for years.....saw the recipe and thought why not.....some of them became cannoli shells......FUN! FUN! FUN......I did add water to thin the batter....just a few tablespoons at a time.....not sure how much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovespets
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Yum, yum and yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovespets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I used vanilla instead of anise. Yield depends on the diameter and thickness of your pizzeles. I found if I used the batter just after mixing it together (more room temp) I got thinner pizzelles and if I refrigerated the dough first, they were slightly thicker. Love this, tastes like Christmas at my Grandma Benedetti's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
If your cookies will not harden or crisp up, try storing the cookies in just a brown paper bag. My family makes these cookies every year and always store them in a paper bag and they always crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
if you like a crisp cookie, reduce your baking powder (I don't use any) . Great recipe otherwise...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Same as my family recipe... I like to flavor mine with single malt scotch and ground walnuts... If you dip them in the powdered sugar before they are cool, they can get soggy.. Also some margarine works better (name-brand) than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph LoGiurato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. Turned out very well for me. Some reviewers remarked that they could not get their cookies to crisp up.... one possibility is that they did not bake them long enough in their pizzelle maker. It seems I always have to relearn just how long to cook them. Experiment with varying amounts of time and you will probably find success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is almost like my family's recipe, except I used vegetable shortening melted. It gives a more crispy "cookie' than butter. I gave this recipe 4 stars because it had too much baking powder. I made 1/2 batch with 2 tsp. baking powder. I had trouble keeping the cookie thin & crispy. 2nd batch I used 1 tsp. Made for a nice crispy cookie.This is photo with 1/2 the amount of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! The pizzelli come out nice and crisp. Only substitution I made was to replace anise with vanilla extract. I also sifted the flour. I use two different types of pizzelli irons and to make sure the pizzelles come out thin and crispy, I apply the batter then shut and hold the iron closed for 10 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States