Pizza Without the Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
DH is a fan of homemade pizza, but I don't like the red sauce. THIS is aptly named! We both enjoyed it. I found tomato pesto sauce at Wegmans (their Italian Classics brand-close enough), used a Mediterranean feta cheese, and left out the jalapeño (they don't like me). I also used Pillsbury's thin pizza dough in the can because it's what I had on hand. I followed those directions; pre bake for 5 minutes at 400 degrees, then load it up and cook for another 8-10. It was good and as I said, we enjoyed it, but am definitely going to try with proper pizza dough next time. This will go into the dinner rotation. It's quick, easy, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Amazing! Best pizza I have ever made at home. Didn't have sundried pesto so just used regular. Also, didn't have spinach so it was just onion and tomato plus the feta. May add pineapple and bacon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made as written except left out the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I have been making this pizza sauce for a couple of months. Since then my pizza has tasted much more fabulosooo! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JazzyBeans
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly and it turned out delicious! The family devoured it in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I think this is a delicious pizza. I didn't have sundried pesto ,but I did have a jar of sundried tomatoes. I drained them, and put in the food processor , along with some fresh grated parmesan cheese and olive oil. Viola! Sundried pesto! Then, I proceeded with the recipe,as directed. I made my own pizza crust . It was a combo of all-purpose and whole wheat. It was all so good. I highly recommend this recipe. I usually make the exquisite pizza sauce from this site and it is very good with a typical pepperoni,olive, pepper,and onion pizza. But ,oh for a change of pace,this pizza fits the bill! My whole family just loved it. Thanks so much ! In fact, I think they liked it better !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flovilla, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I love this pizza! It is really beautiful and full of flavor. The sauce always looks like you're not going to have enough to cover the crust well, but a little goes a long way thanks to the strong flavor. Sometimes, I'll add oven-roasted tomatoes that I make and they are a tasty addition. My little girl (2 years old) devours this pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Delicious!!! I used basil pesto instead of sun dried tomato pesto and it was still wonderful. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I used black olives instead of tomatoes since I didn't have any. Used my own homemade pizza crust. I used a bit more of the pesto and didn't add in extra garlic since my pesto was pretty garlicky. Was super easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States