Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a family hit! I cheated a bit, used a thin crust in the tube pizza crust and always dust the pizza pan with cornmeal and a very thin coat of olive oil to prevent sticking. We like spicy, so I used a teaspoon or so of the red pepper flakes, along with Italian seasoning herbs. I did add mushrooms and onion, with the ham. My asparagus were thin, so no prep needed, as Chef John said. Love the 5 min on low rack, 5 min high. It was perfect-we are having it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was an amazing pizza. I did use a super thin crispy crust which suited the rich sauce very well. I threw all the sauce ingredients into the mini chopper and wizzed it up which made it super simple. I used the white chedder in addition to some shredded swiss that I had leftover in the fridge. I wouldn't want this as the main course because it is rich but it was awesome as a side to lasagna. I just loved the flavor of the sauce and how easy it was to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was very easy to put together, and very delicious for a change. I liked the ricotta and Olive oil and herb sauce, and the sweetness of the asparagus went well with the salty nutty cheese. Very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
this was very tasty.. fearing it would be incredibly rich like others posted, we used shrimp in place of the smoked ham.. and placed slices of provolone on top for the cheddar.. i would like to try this with a combo of feta and maybe another melty cheese.. as SkiBunny said.. it really is a great inspiration recipe.. ty for the enlightenment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Loved the ricotta mixture on this! I didn't use any of the herbs listed but did use chives and dill, had parsley on hand but forgot to use it. Used store bought personal size crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Chef John did a very nice job thinking this one up. I did not use his crust recipe though, I used one from Food Network by Bobby Flay that is ready in 1-2 hours instead of 18. My only change would be the amount of seasoning in the ricotta mixture. It ended up needing some garlic salt because it was a little under seasoned for my household. I think the perfect addition would be brushing the crust thinly with a mixture of olive oil, garlic salt, and black pepper, maybe even a little parmesan. After upping the seasoning, I was delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Delicious. I like to use "Valentino's Pizza Crust" recipe on this site, which makes enough for my 12" pizza pan. Therefore I made 1.5x the toppings in this recipe. I did chop my asparagus into 1" pieces which makes the pizza easier to eat in my opinion. Next time I think I'll add more ham. I pulled my pizza out after 9 minutes since the crust was browning. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I was looking for something different & yummy, and man, did I hit the jackpot! This pizza was phenomenal! All the ingredients were perfect together, and the husband, 14 & 6 year old ate it up. I also used Chef John's crust recipe, which was just perfect, even though I only let it rise for 2 hours. Other then the dough, I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee, though I will definitely have fun playing around with it next time. Cooking's no fun unless you can screw around with it a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is one of the best pizzas I have ever had. I used regular pizza dough, very thin. What a great ideas and a great way to enjoy pizza that is not just your ordinary pizza!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States