Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
YUMMY- great inspiration recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was a nice way to use asparagus, but it was very rich! Also, I used one clove of garlic, instead of the two recommended, but the finished pizza had a sharp garlic bite. Roasted garlic might be a better way to go for a mellower garlic effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was delicious! That being said, I think I prefer it as an appetizer (on a super thin crust/flatbread) rather than as a meal as it is quite rich. I followed the recipe, though I did use dough I'd already made and frozen. I was concerned w/the high bake time, but it's spot on and will be my new pizza cooking method as the result is a perfectly crisp crust. I did not have fresh herbs, so I chose to use a pinch of dried Italian Seasoning. Great stuff, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thisni Caza
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
So good! I used a loaf of Italian bread for the crust, since I'm yeast-bread phobic and none of the ready-made crust options looked very appealing (and were expensive). So given that the recipe was for a 9" pizza, I doubled the ricotta mixture except for the oil. I also have no idea how to meaure a cup of asparagus!! To me, 'trimmed' means trim off the tough part of the stem, not chop. So I probably used way more asparagus. (I had 36 spears, most very small, about 75% of a bunch from the supermarket.) I also used a pizza blend of cheese for the white cheddar, plus a bit of feta on top of that. I know that sounds like a lot of mods, but I felt that Chef John was giving us permission, so that's okay!! Next time I would like to add some onion and mushroom. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is one of the best pizzas I have ever had. I used regular pizza dough, very thin. What a great ideas and a great way to enjoy pizza that is not just your ordinary pizza!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I was looking for something different & yummy, and man, did I hit the jackpot! This pizza was phenomenal! All the ingredients were perfect together, and the husband, 14 & 6 year old ate it up. I also used Chef John's crust recipe, which was just perfect, even though I only let it rise for 2 hours. Other then the dough, I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee, though I will definitely have fun playing around with it next time. Cooking's no fun unless you can screw around with it a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Delicious. I like to use "Valentino's Pizza Crust" recipe on this site, which makes enough for my 12" pizza pan. Therefore I made 1.5x the toppings in this recipe. I did chop my asparagus into 1" pieces which makes the pizza easier to eat in my opinion. Next time I think I'll add more ham. I pulled my pizza out after 9 minutes since the crust was browning. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Chef John did a very nice job thinking this one up. I did not use his crust recipe though, I used one from Food Network by Bobby Flay that is ready in 1-2 hours instead of 18. My only change would be the amount of seasoning in the ricotta mixture. It ended up needing some garlic salt because it was a little under seasoned for my household. I think the perfect addition would be brushing the crust thinly with a mixture of olive oil, garlic salt, and black pepper, maybe even a little parmesan. After upping the seasoning, I was delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Loved the ricotta mixture on this! I didn't use any of the herbs listed but did use chives and dill, had parsley on hand but forgot to use it. Used store bought personal size crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States