Pizza Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very versatile recipe. It's a good base, and just like calling your local pizzeria it's modifiable to suit nearly any taste. I omit pepperoni, add spicy sausage, olives, veggies and tomato paste. I don't broil the cheese, just let it melt on in. Definitely a favorite for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I was not so impressed with this soup. Everyone ate it, but no one asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Good recipe. For my taste next time I will really smash the tomatoes before adding. It was a little chunky. I added garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We had a wedding shower for my cousin. Her favorite food is pizza and I wanted to make something a different. I made this for 40 people and almost everyone went back for seconds and asked for the recipe. I went to 4 years of Culinary school and I give this recipe an A+. A Must try! I did tweak the recipe a little I put about 1/2 the amount of pepperonis that it called for in and I made sure to skim the grease from the pepperoni off before serving. Also I put more tomatoes in about a 1/4 more because I knew the soup was going to be sitting in a slow cooker and some of the liquid would evaporate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made this just as written except that I left out the mushrooms. I also used turkey pepperoni. This didn't sound great but ended up being one of the best soups I've ever tasted! Stewed tomatoes and beef broth made a really tasty soup base as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a good recipe but I like to spice it up a little more by adding some hot sauce or some diced jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Green-Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I doubled this recipe. I used extra virgin olive oil, added about 12 cloves fresh minced garlic, fire roasted canned tomatoes, two large red/yellow peppers, turkey pepperoni and one large can of olives that I chopped. I added my own pizza seasoning (basil, oregano, red pepper flake, Splenda brown sugar, fresh ground pepper, sea salt, onion powder, garlic powder, thyme, fennel, paprika, little lemon pepper seasoning, parmesan cheese.) Because the soup wasn't as tomato-y as I'd like, I did add two cans of organic tomato sauce. It's a good base recipe for me to start with, but I needed it a little more hearty for this to be my soup for the week. I ended up sauteeing the vegetables and adding them with the rest of the ingredients in my large crockpot to cook all day. It smells SO good. I really didn't need the added cheese, it stood well on it's own. Next time, I'd like to add a little more chopped veggies or maybe some ground turkey sausage or ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was pretty good. I plan to make some adjustments next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Manor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is an incredibly easy recipe, but hearty and delicious! I've made it several times and substitued canned mushrooms when I didn't have fresh on hand, as well as different colured peppers, kielbassa instead of pepperoni, chicken stock instead of beef, and it always turns out great! Very versatile and always a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Not bad, not awesome, just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States