Pizza Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
I tried this in a bind (ran out of store bought) My husband and I loved it! I cut the recipe in half since I was making a small pizza, added fresh basil and eliminated the tomato paste (I ran out of that too!) I will be using in place of store bought going forward. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was a good start, but I think next time I'd use about half of the olive oil. It just seemed to be so overpowering and a little bit too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I prefer chunky pizza sauce, but my husband likes his smooth so I decided to make this recipe. It was really good. Has lots of flavor. I added a little pizza seasoning and some red pepper flakes to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
very good and easy. A lot cheaper then buying it from the store and a lot healthier too. It makes a lot so I just frozze the rest and will use for when we have Pizza again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
It didn't come out very well, it tasted like "fake" spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I loved this, it was easy to make and my husband thought the taste was excellent. I changed the serving size to 16 since there is only two of us and froze what was left to use another time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was really good. The first time I tried making it, I burnt the onions but that was my fault for not having all the ingredients ready. Otherwise, I think it turned out very well. It was a little thick from all the paste so I added a little bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is pretty good recipe; needing only a few ingredients. I didn't use it for pizza this time, but will try it some day. I used it for the Pizza Casserole recipe here. I cut this recipe in half for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
The onions made it too strong of a sauce. It took away from the flavor of the toppings. I like onions but everyone I made the pizza for was against them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This recipe is an excellent starting point for sauce, but I agree that the cup of onion is a little strong for me. Also, for me and my husband, we like to sneak in a little fresh basil, thyme, and other spices. However, if you're trying to develop a pizza sauce recipe and you're clueless (like me), this is a great model.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States