Pizza Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
I tried this in a bind (ran out of store bought) My husband and I loved it! I cut the recipe in half since I was making a small pizza, added fresh basil and eliminated the tomato paste (I ran out of that too!) I will be using in place of store bought going forward. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was a good start, but I think next time I'd use about half of the olive oil. It just seemed to be so overpowering and a little bit too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I prefer chunky pizza sauce, but my husband likes his smooth so I decided to make this recipe. It was really good. Has lots of flavor. I added a little pizza seasoning and some red pepper flakes to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
very good and easy. A lot cheaper then buying it from the store and a lot healthier too. It makes a lot so I just frozze the rest and will use for when we have Pizza again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
It didn't come out very well, it tasted like "fake" spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I loved this, it was easy to make and my husband thought the taste was excellent. I changed the serving size to 16 since there is only two of us and froze what was left to use another time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was really good. The first time I tried making it, I burnt the onions but that was my fault for not having all the ingredients ready. Otherwise, I think it turned out very well. It was a little thick from all the paste so I added a little bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is pretty good recipe; needing only a few ingredients. I didn't use it for pizza this time, but will try it some day. I used it for the Pizza Casserole recipe here. I cut this recipe in half for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
The onions made it too strong of a sauce. It took away from the flavor of the toppings. I like onions but everyone I made the pizza for was against them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This recipe is an excellent starting point for sauce, but I agree that the cup of onion is a little strong for me. Also, for me and my husband, we like to sneak in a little fresh basil, thyme, and other spices. However, if you're trying to develop a pizza sauce recipe and you're clueless (like me), this is a great model.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States