Pizza Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This tasted like pizzeria sauce, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I pretty much followed the suggestions of the last reviewer, Liza, and got a wonderful pizza!! I used "Jays Pizza Crust" from this webstite. My husband said it tasted like it came from our favorite "non chain" pizza, that we spend nearly 20 dollars on. Made at home,with many toppings for around 5 dollars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
For making 1 pizza- I recommend a 6oz paste and an 8oz sauce with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. Why make more when you can make fresh so quickly. I also recommend using all dried herbs instead of fresh onion etc. It will blend better in the sauce. Also a tiny bit (1/2 teasp) vinegar will give it tang, and a little white sugar. I think the other spices you should taste for preference as you go along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This is a very good sauce, but I did add fennel seed and simmered it for about an hour and a half. This will be the sauce I use from now on. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I always feel better when preparing a sauce that has actually been cooked, rather than just "steeped", because I never think that the chopped garlic, or onion, or whatever is germ free enough when only steeped. This is an EXCELLENT recipe to tweak for your own tastes. I cut the oil to 1-1/2 Tbs., onion to 1/2 cup, and the oregano to 1-1/2 Tbs. This way I could add other spices to my liking, such as basil, marjoram, cayenne, dry red pepper flakes, sugar, etc. It made the 4 cups, enough for four 12" pizzas. I froze 3 portions for later use. Don't be shy--EXPERIMENT!!! Mine had the basics of this recipe but it turned out SO differently that I cannot really review it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This recipe is an excellent starting point for sauce, but I agree that the cup of onion is a little strong for me. Also, for me and my husband, we like to sneak in a little fresh basil, thyme, and other spices. However, if you're trying to develop a pizza sauce recipe and you're clueless (like me), this is a great model.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
The onions made it too strong of a sauce. It took away from the flavor of the toppings. I like onions but everyone I made the pizza for was against them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is pretty good recipe; needing only a few ingredients. I didn't use it for pizza this time, but will try it some day. I used it for the Pizza Casserole recipe here. I cut this recipe in half for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This was really good. The first time I tried making it, I burnt the onions but that was my fault for not having all the ingredients ready. Otherwise, I think it turned out very well. It was a little thick from all the paste so I added a little bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I loved this, it was easy to make and my husband thought the taste was excellent. I changed the serving size to 16 since there is only two of us and froze what was left to use another time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States