Pizza Sauce and Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I usesd just the sauce with homemade crust (Jay's Pizza Crust, also from this site), and it was THE BOMB!!!! I can not say enough how this absolutely made my pizza delicious rather than just good. The only thing I changed was I tasted the sauce as it was simmering, and I added about another teaspoon of dried parsley, another teaspoon of dried basil, and about a tablespoon just of Italian seasonings blend, otherwise the sauce was too tomato-y. It also made A LOT of sauce-next time I'll probably just use the 28oz can of tomato puree but all the extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I already have my own recipe for pizza dough that has never failed me, but yesterday I had no pizza sauce on hand so I found this recipe. Am I ever glad I did - the sauce tastes incredible! It has just the right mix of tomato flavour and sweetness, and using whole tomatoes and chopped onions adds a lot of chunkiness to it. It makes a LOT of sauce too; I'm going to freeze the leftover sauce, and it will probably be enough to last me for the next few months (although I may want to make pizza more often now, so maybe it won't last quite that long!). Thanks very much for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I gave this no stars b/c I only used the sauce recipe. It turned out just o.k., I think it needed something. I increased the seasonings, like others mentioned and added a teaspoon of sugar to help with the bitterness, but it still wasn't impressive. I will be trying the dough recipe next time though…thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Hmmm can you substitute the flat beer with something non alcoholic, or cn it be made without? I don't have any alcohol, and Im not fond of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelittlestpunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was excellent! we really enjoyed making this from scatch and simply topped it with mozz, tomatoes and fresh basil. Even though it takes a while - it's much better than frozen pizza. In fact, there's no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I just used the sauce from this recipe. It turned out great!!! I don't like chunks in my sauce so I put the tomatoes in the blender before I started. I think I will play with the spices a little next time but it was great!!! Thanks for a great pizza sauce that I can make myself and don't have to worry about what is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Didn't make the dough (used "Ricardo's Pizza Crust" recipe) as we didn't have any flat beer - tbh we never have any left over beer in! The sauce was simple and easy to make with the ingredients I have in. Used dried oregano and less tomato puree (about 2 tablespoons. Blended it to give it a smooth texture which we prefer and used the leftovers (as half the recipe made too much for one pizza) for the base of a pasta sauce the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Good basic crust. The only problem with this recipe is that you need more water. It was way too dry after following all the recipe so I added a little more water and a little more olive oil and it turned out great! I made this twice; once with bread flour, and the other time with half bread flour and half whole wheat flour, I liked it better with half wheat flour. I did not make the sauce, I have my own methods for that that I feel are better than what this recipe calls for. But the crust was pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I used only the pizza sauce recipe, but it was wonderful!! Very easy, quick, and flavorful! Much better and just as easy as any sauce you can buy. This is now my new favorite and made my pizza taste delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I used just the dough recipe because I already had home made pasta sauce left over from a previous dinner. This dough is awesome. My family adored it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States