Pizza Sauce and Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We really enjoy this sauce. It's our staple recipe for Sunday night pizza. I make a double batch and can it into pint jars. Each pint is just enough for one Boboli crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Just made the sauce and it was excellent. Followed all but didnt have fresh oregano so used dried. Also added 1 tsp sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very good! We have gotten on a homemade pizza craze here. I did not make the sauce for this, as my 8yo does not like red sauce. I made a cheese bread. Thanks for the yummy post! We enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I did not make the dough part of this recipe but I did make the sauce and it is great! When adding 2 cans of tomato paste I used one regular and one was a basil, oregano and garlic. I also put the canned tomatoes in my chopper because my kids did not want the chunks of tomato. I could not find canned roma tomatoes so I just used canned peeled tomatoes. I think that even if I had not changed anything, this pizza sauce recipe is a great one! I will use this sauce recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Simple dough to make. I started it in the morning and put it in the fridge till dinner(not overnight). I used whole wheat flour and it turned out great. The first pizza dough puffed up really high while in the oven and I needed to cook it longer so I rolled out the second one much THINNER and it was perfect. Lightly crisp on the bottom. The herbs in the dough make this recipe stand out from all the rest. My family commented on how good it was all night. As for the sauce,I didn't have fresh herbs but even with dried herbs this one is a hit and I will definately make it again. I appriciate the fact that I can make extra and freeze it for a quick meal another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Really good pizza crust. Doubled recipe for two pizzas and its very thick and doughy. Next time I'll make one and spread them thinner. Really liked the dried herbs in the crust. Had to bake it a little longer - 5-7 min? Could be my oven. Used another sauce recipe, will try this one sometime. -Finally tried sauce with Pizza dough I recipe. It is excellent! I halved the recipe (Keeping original onion and garlic amounts ;} after reading reviews and I still have lots leftover after making 2 pizzas! This sauce is a keeper! Still looking for an easy, great dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I already have my own recipe for pizza dough that has never failed me, but yesterday I had no pizza sauce on hand so I found this recipe. Am I ever glad I did - the sauce tastes incredible! It has just the right mix of tomato flavour and sweetness, and using whole tomatoes and chopped onions adds a lot of chunkiness to it. It makes a LOT of sauce too; I'm going to freeze the leftover sauce, and it will probably be enough to last me for the next few months (although I may want to make pizza more often now, so maybe it won't last quite that long!). Thanks very much for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Good basic crust. The only problem with this recipe is that you need more water. It was way too dry after following all the recipe so I added a little more water and a little more olive oil and it turned out great! I made this twice; once with bread flour, and the other time with half bread flour and half whole wheat flour, I liked it better with half wheat flour. I did not make the sauce, I have my own methods for that that I feel are better than what this recipe calls for. But the crust was pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Very Nice taste. A little thick, but I added a little water to it and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States