Pizza Sauce and Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
The Italian seasoning in the dough was overpowering. I also could never get the dough to rise properly even after putting in a much warmer place and adding more yeast. I thought my yeast may have gotten old but that was not the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Added more basil and parsley as suggested. Added a teaspoon of brown sugar and is awesome! I won't try anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reetah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This sauce and the crust is the BEST! I don't care about take out pizza anymore. I made no modifications except one time I used fresh/frozen tomatoes. It is great! I have made this at least 4 times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I only made the dough for this, mostly because I wanted bread, not pizza at the time I made this. I used beer and onions I had used to boil smoked sausage and really didn't want to throw it away, so used it in this. It made for some nice flavor. I had twice as much liquid as called for, so I doubled the recipe and made a loaf of bread, a bunch of rolls, and a cheesy pesto bread that I put bacon on one half. Hubs seemed to enjoy it; I really like the flavor in this dough. It's pretty easy and basic; all the extra ingredients are just the herbs and spices. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
i did this recepie for disaster i did everthing but the crust was way to hard even to lick i say thumbs down for this recepie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The best tasting pizza crust! I already have a sauce I like, but was still hunting for the best crust recipe. This is it! The others I have tried were ok, but sort of bready/bland. The beer MUST be the key! Dont substitute another liquid. Be sure to cook on a preheated pizza stone at around 500 degrees for a good crust. Crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camelia
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My review is for the pizza sauce only; I used a gluten-free Udi's pre-made pizza crust. I had to make minor adjustments to the sauce recipe due to lack of available ingredients, but it still turned out fantastic. Although, if I had the fresh ingredients on-hand, they would have been my preference. I used about 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp minced garlic, no fresh garlic. My can of tomatoes was only a 14.5 oz can, and then I chopped 1 1/2 large fresh tomatoes with juice. My tomato paste can was an 8 oz., I used only one. I used 1/2 tsp basil seasoning, instead of fresh basil; as well as 1/2 tsp oregano seasoning, instead of fresh oregano. Additionally, I used 1 TBSP of pizza seasoning blend. This made quite a bit of sauce. I have enough left over sauce to make an additional pizza, plus a single serving size of sauce to eat with pasta. *Toppings: Orange bell pepper slices, thin sliced fresh tomato, pepperoni, fresh grated mozzarella, packaged grated cheddar, parmesan cheese, and fresh chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This totally bombed for us :( I almost rated it a two star... something I have never done before! The sauce is better in than the crust, but even still I had to pretty much double the spices and add salt to get it tasting better (I NEVER add salt, I usually try to lower the sodium!) It still was off so I looked at other recipes and noticed they typically had some sugar added so I added maybe 1 Tbl of brown sugar. In the end the sauce was good. The dough. Ughhh. So bad! So dense it was like a brick! I thought it might have been bad yeast, but we did a taste test with another recipe and that raised properly... I don't know, I followed the recipe and it just never did raise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Really good pizza dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love the bread dough, it was delicious. The sauce wasn't what I would call awesome but it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States