Pizza Sauce and Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This sauce and the crust is the BEST! I don't care about take out pizza anymore. I made no modifications except one time I used fresh/frozen tomatoes. It is great! I have made this at least 4 times already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I only made the dough for this, mostly because I wanted bread, not pizza at the time I made this. I used beer and onions I had used to boil smoked sausage and really didn't want to throw it away, so used it in this. It made for some nice flavor. I had twice as much liquid as called for, so I doubled the recipe and made a loaf of bread, a bunch of rolls, and a cheesy pesto bread that I put bacon on one half. Hubs seemed to enjoy it; I really like the flavor in this dough. It's pretty easy and basic; all the extra ingredients are just the herbs and spices. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
i did this recepie for disaster i did everthing but the crust was way to hard even to lick i say thumbs down for this recepie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The best tasting pizza crust! I already have a sauce I like, but was still hunting for the best crust recipe. This is it! The others I have tried were ok, but sort of bready/bland. The beer MUST be the key! Dont substitute another liquid. Be sure to cook on a preheated pizza stone at around 500 degrees for a good crust. Crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camelia
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My review is for the pizza sauce only; I used a gluten-free Udi's pre-made pizza crust. I had to make minor adjustments to the sauce recipe due to lack of available ingredients, but it still turned out fantastic. Although, if I had the fresh ingredients on-hand, they would have been my preference. I used about 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp minced garlic, no fresh garlic. My can of tomatoes was only a 14.5 oz can, and then I chopped 1 1/2 large fresh tomatoes with juice. My tomato paste can was an 8 oz., I used only one. I used 1/2 tsp basil seasoning, instead of fresh basil; as well as 1/2 tsp oregano seasoning, instead of fresh oregano. Additionally, I used 1 TBSP of pizza seasoning blend. This made quite a bit of sauce. I have enough left over sauce to make an additional pizza, plus a single serving size of sauce to eat with pasta. *Toppings: Orange bell pepper slices, thin sliced fresh tomato, pepperoni, fresh grated mozzarella, packaged grated cheddar, parmesan cheese, and fresh chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This totally bombed for us :( I almost rated it a two star... something I have never done before! The sauce is better in than the crust, but even still I had to pretty much double the spices and add salt to get it tasting better (I NEVER add salt, I usually try to lower the sodium!) It still was off so I looked at other recipes and noticed they typically had some sugar added so I added maybe 1 Tbl of brown sugar. In the end the sauce was good. The dough. Ughhh. So bad! So dense it was like a brick! I thought it might have been bad yeast, but we did a taste test with another recipe and that raised properly... I don't know, I followed the recipe and it just never did raise properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Really good pizza dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love the bread dough, it was delicious. The sauce wasn't what I would call awesome but it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I really like the flavor is this fast and easy pizza sauce, but I did not try the dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Ussery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made the crust last night. Oh my goodness! It smelled so good and tasted just as good. I made a calzone last night and plan to make bread sticks with the left over dough tonight. I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abingdon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States