Pizza Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I can't believe all the great compliments I received on this dish! I've been cooking for a long, long time and this one is right up there with my other "bests". I upped some of the quantities but that was it: Used 10 green onions, 8 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms, 8 oz. pepperoni, 15 oz. black olives, 2 T. garlic powder, 3/4 t. pepper, 16 oz. bottle Zesty Italian dressing (or Robusto Italian), 2 c. Mozzarella and 1/2 c. Parmesan. I had people asking to take some home for work the next day. Raves, raves, raves! (If our daughter wasn't coming to dinner, I would've used spicy pepperoni but I knew she would've just picked them all out). Thanks for a true keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RCD0205
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I used the suggestion of adding pasta sauce to the dressing, used turkey pepperoni cut in fours and added spinach for more color. I left out olives and mushrooms. I tried it heated up too. Enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCD0205

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was a hit. I changed it to my tastes - left out mushrooms, added artichoke hearts, used sharp cheddar instead of mozz cheese. I used Wishbone Italian dressing. I also added a little McCormick pasta salad seasoning. As others suggested, I bought a stick of pepperoni, sliced thick pieces, and quartered them rather than using the thin pre-sliced stuff. Very good.. will make many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
It was actually a little bland. I expected more flavor to it, and I did use spicy italian dressing. We still enjoyed it and I will make it again. I will probably try a different italian dressing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
After reading the reviews, I was excited about making this salad. I was unimpressed. It tasted just like any other pasta salad. After all that preperation, I expected something a ittle different from the same old thing. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I used fresh mushrooms, added salami, used way more pepperoni, cubed the mozzerella and added cubed monterey jack cheese. Used a flavored Italian dressing instead of just the plain or zesty. Took this to a teacher's luncheon...the first thing to go and the most requested recipe! When you take the lid off, it smells just like pizza! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This recipe was phenominal! I brought it to work, and everyone raved. The only adjustment I made was I omitted the mushrooms, as I don't care for them. I'm sure I'll be making this again soon! Thanks Tony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
My family really enjoyed this warm alongside a Ceasar salad. I didn't have a green pepper on hand, but instead used a large sweet onion which I first sauteed with 8oz. of fresh mushrooms instead of using the canned. I also added in some salami. We used a creamy, Tuscany Italian and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was pretty good - not as good as expected given all the ratings, but part of this might've been my fault. The green onions were large and very strong - I think next time I wont use as many. Also, not enough pepperoni - the recipe calls for 2-1/2 oz. - I added 4 oz. and there still wasnt' enough in my mind or my husband's. I'll definitely try it again and make those small changes - see how it comes out. Oh, and I didn't add quite the full 8 oz. of dressing - didn't think it needed so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a great pasta salad! So refreshing from the mayo based types -which are often greasy feeling and heavy. Changes made -first I opted to use tri-colour rotini, used fresh mushrooms, left out the tomato and green onions. Instead of using shredded mozzarella cheese, I used the string cheese style, and sliced them into 1/4" slices. The type of dressing used will either make this salad good, or great. I used a roasted red pepper Italian w/ parmesan viniagrette...and wow talk about a burst of flavour on the palate...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States