Pizza Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I can't believe all the great compliments I received on this dish! I've been cooking for a long, long time and this one is right up there with my other "bests". I upped some of the quantities but that was it: Used 10 green onions, 8 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms, 8 oz. pepperoni, 15 oz. black olives, 2 T. garlic powder, 3/4 t. pepper, 16 oz. bottle Zesty Italian dressing (or Robusto Italian), 2 c. Mozzarella and 1/2 c. Parmesan. I had people asking to take some home for work the next day. Raves, raves, raves! (If our daughter wasn't coming to dinner, I would've used spicy pepperoni but I knew she would've just picked them all out). Thanks for a true keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RCD0205
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I used the suggestion of adding pasta sauce to the dressing, used turkey pepperoni cut in fours and added spinach for more color. I left out olives and mushrooms. I tried it heated up too. Enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCD0205

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This was a hit. I changed it to my tastes - left out mushrooms, added artichoke hearts, used sharp cheddar instead of mozz cheese. I used Wishbone Italian dressing. I also added a little McCormick pasta salad seasoning. As others suggested, I bought a stick of pepperoni, sliced thick pieces, and quartered them rather than using the thin pre-sliced stuff. Very good.. will make many more times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
It was actually a little bland. I expected more flavor to it, and I did use spicy italian dressing. We still enjoyed it and I will make it again. I will probably try a different italian dressing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
After reading the reviews, I was excited about making this salad. I was unimpressed. It tasted just like any other pasta salad. After all that preperation, I expected something a ittle different from the same old thing. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I used fresh mushrooms, added salami, used way more pepperoni, cubed the mozzerella and added cubed monterey jack cheese. Used a flavored Italian dressing instead of just the plain or zesty. Took this to a teacher's luncheon...the first thing to go and the most requested recipe! When you take the lid off, it smells just like pizza! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This recipe was phenominal! I brought it to work, and everyone raved. The only adjustment I made was I omitted the mushrooms, as I don't care for them. I'm sure I'll be making this again soon! Thanks Tony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
My family really enjoyed this warm alongside a Ceasar salad. I didn't have a green pepper on hand, but instead used a large sweet onion which I first sauteed with 8oz. of fresh mushrooms instead of using the canned. I also added in some salami. We used a creamy, Tuscany Italian and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This was pretty good - not as good as expected given all the ratings, but part of this might've been my fault. The green onions were large and very strong - I think next time I wont use as many. Also, not enough pepperoni - the recipe calls for 2-1/2 oz. - I added 4 oz. and there still wasnt' enough in my mind or my husband's. I'll definitely try it again and make those small changes - see how it comes out. Oh, and I didn't add quite the full 8 oz. of dressing - didn't think it needed so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a great pasta salad! So refreshing from the mayo based types -which are often greasy feeling and heavy. Changes made -first I opted to use tri-colour rotini, used fresh mushrooms, left out the tomato and green onions. Instead of using shredded mozzarella cheese, I used the string cheese style, and sliced them into 1/4" slices. The type of dressing used will either make this salad good, or great. I used a roasted red pepper Italian w/ parmesan viniagrette...and wow talk about a burst of flavour on the palate...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States