Pizza Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummo! They do take some time to make but they are well worth it. I made exquisite pizza sauce from this site (only one I ever use) and used pepperjack cheese. I baked them at 400 for about 13 minutes. Spray the tops with cooking spray and they brown nicely. Ate some and froze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I had some egg roll wrappers to use up and thought I'd give this recipe a try. They were very good! I was being lazy, so I just layered everything onto the wrapper and rolled them up, and that worked out well. My little guy went crazy over them and I thought they were tasty too! I'd like to maybe add some sausage, olives or green peppers next time. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
ive made these several times and make a few hundred at a time to freeze and they just go. if the kids, or me as well know they're in the freezer we just cant leave them and end up eating then all too quickly. soooooo goooooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
For me, short story - won't be making again. Long story - I loved the idea. From the start, just couldnt get a good roll going. Tablespoon was waaay too much but may be my egg rolls were small but they were the only ones my grocery carried so I am stuck with that size. So I resigned to the fact that I would make pizza rectangles with about half a tablespoon of filling. So I made a production line which worked great. Made about 6 at a time. Frying went okay until one would ooze out. Then there were little floaties getting too dark that I would have to fish out. Some would stick to the "rolls" so I would have to take a brush and brush them off. While the flavor was okay I thought, the amount of work was just more than I care for, for the end result. The teenagers said they were okay but hardly any filling. So all the extra stuff I dirtied up, the large amount of oil that I dont think I can use for anything else now because of the burning filling floaties, just wasnt worth it for me and the amount of time it took from preparation to end of clean up. I probably have $10 tied up in these 20 and would just rather buy them at the store. But many people seem to make it work okay, so I would say it is worth a try. But once was enough for me. But still love the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I was in a bind to make something for lunch for m kids, and when I saw I had everything for this recipe, I went for it. And let me tell you, I will never buy frozen ones again! They were crispy on the outside and goey and saucy in the inside! My kids devoured them fast! Thanks again for the great no brainer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Omg I love the ideo of this :) Waiting for my boyfriend to go to the store to buy me pepperoni right now. I'm just going to brush them with water, as I've actually found that to be a BETTER glue when I've made ravioli or pot stickers with wonton wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These turned out even better than I expected them to. I used my own homemade pizza sauce and made ours with our own favorite pizza toppings. They were DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I rate this two stars not because of the recipe, but because this was a major flop for me. I think it had to do with our egg roll wrappers that this turned out so bad or because I am not used to frying things, but either way, this was a big mess. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These were loved by all the kids! We skipped the food processor and just cut up some pepperoni, used pre-shredded mozzarella and some homemade pizza sauce in a bowl. Also, we only needed to wet the wrappers with a LITTLE water to make them stick together. Once cooked we dipped in the remaining pizza sauce. Was a very tasty treat and a fun snack to make together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I really wanted to try these and then realized I accidentally bought wonton wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers. I wanted to try a vegetarian version and then got thrown off by the portions. I used a modified version of easy pizza sauce III, that I made the other day, and mixed about 3/4 of a cup and 1 cup of cheese to create a thick enough mixture. I decided to try the wonton wrappers, anyway, and it did strangely taste like a pizza roll like at the grocery store. I had to just reduce the filling to about 1 tsp. or less because of the smaller size of the wonton wrapper. I have a mini fryer and just used that. There was no way I was going to heat up, and waste, 8 cups of oil for frying. I would have liked to have seen how well the egg roll wrappers held up and the difference in the taste. I never would have thought to recreate a frozen food snack at home, so I wanted to try it once. However, they are quite time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States