Pizza Dough III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I made this recipe several times and had trouble with it from the beginning, but I made a few changes which helped. 1.)Two cups of flour left the dough too sticky for me, so I add about another 1/2 cup through kneading. 2.)I used olive oil to grease my pan and then sprinkled some cornmeal on top of that, then the dough for baking. 3.)This for me was the critical problem for this recipe... Many reviewers recommended partially baking the crust before applying the sauce and other toppings so it doesn't get soggy in the middle. I tried this and it simply didn't work for me. I ended up baking the crust initially for 8 minutes w/o toppings and then with the toppings for an additional 20 and the crust still wasn't done. Now instead I bake it at 400 degrees without bothering to prebake and I don't have a problem with sogginess in the center. 4.) Also add 1/4 tsp each of garlic powder and basil to the dough, but that is a personal preference and doesn't add or take away from the original recipe as it is good without it. I also like to pair this with the "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" from this site, which is very, very good. Will make again, but with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1424 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Turned out wonderful! I made one with the bread flour, like the recipie calls for, and one with regular flour, (because I ran out of bread flour)did not come out as good with regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
981 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
We live in the Chicago suburbs so we are never short of wonderful pizza spots around, which is why I don't think to make my own pizza. My husband and I loved this pizza last night. I read some but not all of the reviews before making this. Next time I will try to make it in the morning and giv it more time to rise. However out of options at dinner time, I did the 30 min rising and although it didn't rise much, I divided it and added flour, well floured the surface and rolled it out. Luckily we like thin and crispy and so it turned out great for us. I also used a pizza pan with holes in the bottom which made it crisp up REALLY nice. Dough was very tasty. On the edges it was crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. Something I learned from my pizza waitressing days is, even if you like a lot of sauce hold back a bit more than you think. Sauce goes a long way and that may be why some of the reviews are stating that their pizza came out too soggy. I used the Exquisite Pizza Sauce from this site and we loved it! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
678 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fithian, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint John, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Awesome crust. Even better than the crust I've been making for a while now. 1 cup of water is almost too much for the amount of flour in this recipe. You need to reduce the water or add flour. Very nice cripy outside and very light and fluffy inside. I also added seasoning to the dough and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
454 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Yesterday I decided to take a shot at making my own pizza crust. I read many reviews and decided after an 8-5 job this would be my best bet. SO easy! I used regular flour. It came out great! I added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp thyme and 2 tsps of italian seasoning. I'm looking fwd to making again. Next time I'll do as others suggested and use a pizza stone (need to buy 1) and use corn meal at the bottom of pan. I'll also let it rise a bit longer and use 3/4 c of water for yeast mixture. I am so glad that although I didn't do some of these things IT was a HIT!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaRita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This crust turned out great. Like other reviewers noted, I had to add a little bit extra flour (maybe 1/4 cup). Great flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Wow, the crowd's getting tough out there! I'm almost sorry I read yesterdays reviews! Well Phyllis, this had to be, the best pizza dough I've made yet. It was so EASY to work with. Normally I have such a hard time stretching it out, but I had no trouble with this. I used it with the sausage pie I made last night. Terrific and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Got a pizza baking stone for Christmas and have been trying recipes everyday. This is the best!! Very authentic. Delicious. Easy too. I added a bit more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I used my bread machine for this recipe. The dough came out way too soft. I guess I will need to add more bread flour next time. I did go ahead and add the flour at the end trying to salvage the dough. The dough baked up pretty good and the taste was very delicious! I will definitely try this again with more bread flour. A very good tasting dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This dough was so simple to make and it turned out very nice. I did add some garlic seasoning to the flour mixture. My 12 year old loved making her own pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 908) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Pizza Dough III

See how to make easy homemade pizza dough.

Pizza Dough I

Make quick, no-rise pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States