Pizza Dough I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I go back to this recipe time and time again. The only changes I make are sometimes I use bread flour (when I have it on hand) , let it rest for ten minutes while I prep my toppings and pat into a well oiled pan. I bake at 400 for about 20 minutes. This makes the crust light and crispy and buttery. I also live in a humid sea-level climate and have a gas oven so this may not work for all but I get rave reviews whether I tweak it slightly or leave as is. No need to let it rise for an hour. That's not what this recipe is for! Awesome recipe. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this tonight exactly as written and it was FANTASTIC! (Well, I did let the finished dough sit for 15 minutes though while I was chopping pepperoni slices, strips of pepper and preparing the tomato sauce. However, I'm not sure that step was necessary; it didn't rise noticeably. But either way, boy was it fabulous!) In any case, you do not need to proof the yeast separately as some have suggested. I didn't and my crust was delightfully thick, fluffy, rich and crispy. I only decided to try this recipe in a desperate attempt to save dinner when I discovered in horror that the pre-made crust I had purchased just a couple of days prior had sprouted mould all over. Ick. I didn't think it would work, but to my delight, it produced one of the best crusts I've ever tasted (way better than the $20 per pie variety we usually order in), and all in a knick of time. I will never purchase pre-made crusts again--this is my new go-to weekly pizza crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Excellent! Easy to follow and make your own. I add a little basil, garlic powder and a pinch of thyme. Play around with it and have fun exploring. Follow the basic recipe and directions and you can't fail. Negative reviewers need to lighten up a little. It's meant to be simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Looks like crust--TASTES LIKE PLAY-DOH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was a great recipe that turned out better than I expected. I did add Italian seasoning and garlic powder to it, which I think really boosted the flavor. It was a little dense for me, I think next time I will try the suggestion of combining yeat and water first to make a thinner crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovingLimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I have used this dough exactly as written and also taken time to dissolve the yeast, knead, rise, etc. I do prefer to take the time, but it comes out nicely either way. Parbaked the crust and loaded it with pierogi pizza toppings (brushed crust with olive oil, spread layer of mashed potatoes, topped with bacon and cheddar cheese (not as much cheese needed as a regular pizza). When done, drizzled with sour cream and sprinkled chives on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Perfect, I also added a little herbs and garlic to the mix, doubled recipe and made 2 pizzas on my 12" stone, coulda easily made 3. Crust was very thick. This is gonna be my quick alt. To my fave king arthur flour pizza pie recipe. (25 min at 375)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I like it, it's very simple, easy, and light. I got crispy edges also :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
It's so-so (bland and not great texture), but fast, so . . . if that's what you're looking for . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Since my son has multiple alergies we used this recipe and it became the family favorite on weekends!! Now he can eat pizza !! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,046) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Pizza Dough III

See how to make easy homemade pizza dough.

Pizza Dough I

Make quick, no-rise pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States