Pizza Dough I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I think people are missing the point of this dough. This dough is meant to be EASY so that you can make it last minute. Adding the extra steps completely ruins the ease of this recipe. It is delicious, AS IS. If you want to tweek it to add flavor add some herbs to the dough. Of course the dough could be better with more time and more steps (and it is, I've taken the time). But the recipe, as is, deserves the full 5 stars. You will never make pizza dough better than this with this little effort put forth. Thanks for the FABULOUS recipe. We will never order out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Good recipe, but like other reviewers, it's missing directions. Here's my changes: 1 1/4 cups warm water, 1 pkg active dry yeast, 1 tblsp sugar, 1 tsp thyme or Italian seasonings, 3 tblsp olive oil, 3+ cups of flour, 1 tsp salt. Mix water, yeast, sugar & oil in mixer bowl. Then add flour & salt. Mix-knead for 10-12 minutes, sprinkling with flour to keep from sticking to bowl. Dough should be elastic & smooth. Place dough in oiled bowl, cover dough with oil, cover & let stand 1 hr at room temp. Then divide dough 2 equal parts roll into balls, cover with damp towel & let stand another 10 mins. Use immediately. Don't forget to poke holes into dough with fork once rolled onto pan to let steam escape while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1744 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Okay, we are sold on this dough!! We are connoisseurs of anything Italian and this is the best!! I followed some of the suggestions and added 1 tsp garlic, 1 tsp basil, only 2 1/2 cups of flour, olive rather than vegetable oil, and let rise for 30 mins. I also bake the crust alone for 5-7 mins then add my toppings. Yum, Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I agree with the previous reviewer RenaKS27 - people who are knit-picking this recipe to death are missing the whole point of its "quick and easy"-ness. It is a no-fail go-to recipe for pizza crust when you dont WANT to wait for dough to rise, or have to pull out fifty-three different ingredients. By all means, personalize it to your heart's content, but also don't be afraid to make it as is. I also use it for quick breadsticks: roll it out and cut into strips with a pizza cutter, bake as directed, then brush with butter that has been melted with minced fresh garlic and sprinkle them with grated parmesan. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
812 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I've made this dough four times now trying all the different suggestions and variations. The best result though was to make it as per the recipe! There is quite a big difference in the final result depending on how you add the yeast. You'll get a thin & crispy result if you add the yeast to the warm water first and a thicker bready base if the water is added to all the dry ingredients at the same time. I used olive oil and also added lots of dried herbs to the dry mix. This recipe also makes a really good garlic bread if you top it with olive oil, crushed garlic and parmesan cheese. I doesn't seem necessary to let the dough rise first, I didn't really notice any difference. Maybe our yeast is a bit different in NZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
677 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napier, Gisborne-Hawke's Bay, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I made this dough tonight and it was perfect! I took the time to dissolve the yeast and sugar in the warm cup of water though and let the dough rise for 30 minutes. Then kneaded it lightly and let it rise again for 15 minutes. I feel the dough doesn't need to be flavored like others suggested; pizza sauce and toppings add all the flavor you need :) I made a huge deep dish pizza using all the dough in a 9x13 baking dish; piled high with cheese and toppings..the crust was thick, soft and moist just the way I love it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This recipe needs a lot of work. First of all, throwing all the ingredients together will restult in a thin crispy crust. If thats what your going for, fine, but you dont need the yeast. To make a proper crust, proof the yeast, sugar and water for 10-15 mins, then add the rest of the ingedients. The recipe is very bland by itself, you need, at the very least, more salt. I just used Adobo (about a tablespoon) and addes some garlic powder and onion powder. Not enough to over power, but enough to take away the blandness. I've also found adding 2 tablespoons of honey, in addition to the sugar, helps a lot. Also, once you form the dough, let it sit so it can rise, maybe 10-15 mins, then roll it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also add italian seasoning and oregano to the dry mixture before adding in the water and oil. And make sure the water really is warm... when I was learning how to cook, I didn't necessarily pay attention to that part. Using warm (rather than cool) water makes a difference. UPDATE 2/14/11: I have made this many times over the last few years. I do everything I did above, plus I've tweaked a bit. I heat the oven to 400 and bake just the crust for about 12 minutes before adding the toppings and baking for another 15. I also sometimes brush the crust and edge with olive oil for a slightly more "golden" effect. I find that these changes do not take away from the simplicity and greatness of this recipe, nor do they add hardly any time to preparing. I'm also updating my 4 stars to 5 because I've gotten the hang of this crust and it really is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Excellent recipe. I made the dough in my bread machine using 2 tsp. bread machine yeast. I added a pinch each of oregano & garlic powder to the flour. Also, I used olive oil in place of vegetable oil [just a preference]. My husband likes a medium thickness to his crust and I like a thinner [flat bread] crust, which this recipe accomplished. I brushed a little olive oil on the shells I made and prebaked them at 425 degrees for 5 minutes and froze them. No need to thaw when you are ready to use, just put on the toppings and bake. I baked at 425 degrees, just perfect. Depending on the size of the pizza shells you are making, you can get several shells from this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This recipe is perfect. Simple is always best. I'm not shy adding garlic powder to it, and of course sweet basil. I also let it rise for 30 min's, and bake the crust about 5 min's at 425F before adding the toppings. My kids and husband love it, and we never buy DiGiorno's anymore! I'M A STAR! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,009) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Pizza Dough III

See how to make easy homemade pizza dough.

Pizza Dough I

Make quick, no-rise pizza dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States