Pizza Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Best pizza crust I've ever made, but I do have to say that I modified it just a bit. (What can I say, I almost always have to modify recipes!) To make the crust a little healthier, I substituted 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for some of the white flour, added a tablespoon of ground flax meal, and increased water to 1 cup. In addition (and as some of the other reviewers did) I added garlic and dried basil to the crust (didn't measure, just threw it in). This dough is really easy to work with compared to the others I've made. It spreads easily without trying to retreat again to the middle of the pan. Wonderful chewy texture, and just crisp enough underneath to hold it's shape. So happy that I tried this one, albeit a bit modified from the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Made it using a 13x9 cake pan and cut it into bread sticks, fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mienna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was my first attempt at making a home made pizza. I made it exactly as written. My bread machine took 1 hr & 40 min on the dough setting. I used a 16" perforated pizza pan which I sprayed with a little butter spray and sprinked with some cornmeal. Took some work to try and get the dough spread evenly on the pan. I didn't pre-bake it. Spread some store bought pizza sauce on it and 2 cups of shredded Mozzarella. Sprinkled with a little Italian Seasoning and some additional dried basil and oregano and then lots of pieces of sweet Italian sausage. Baked it for about 20 min at 400 degrees. It didn't look real pretty but BOY was it GOOD! Crust was perfect. Light brown and a little crispy on the outside and soft on the inside and totally done even in the middle. No more store bought for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Crust turned out great. Baked it for a few minutes before putting the sauce & toppings on. Everyone really enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I re-calculated this for 6, used garlic oil for the regular oil, added italian seasoning and some garlic powder. Made pepperoni calzones. YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
THANK YOU!!! This is the EASIEST and BEST TASTING crust recipe ever!! I usually sprinkle cornmeal on the bottom of my pan before i spread out the dough and it's ALWAYS great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wonderful recipe! It came out perfect using the 'DOUGH" setting on my bread machine. Soft in the middle with the perfect amount of firmness outside to keep all the topping goodies from collapsing when you pick up a slice to eat. Gonna use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Maybe I wasn't looking and added too much flour, but the wet/dry ratio seemed off b/c the dough was so dry. It was great after I added more water. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
After trying two different recipes, including the one on the back of the Fleishmann's yeast packet, I had all but given up on homemade pizza. My family and I are sooo glad I gave it one more shot! This one turned out perfectly with a delicious taste even my crust-finicky children (2, 4, 6, 8) loved! I did add a couple of dashes of Italian seasoning to the bread machine, but I don't know if that really made a difference or not. I can see us having homemade pizza weekly now! Thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Excellent crust! Soft texture on the inside and slightly crusty on the outside. I always mist a little olive oil over the edges of the crust before baking. 20 minutes at 425 was just right. I doubled the batch in my bread machine for two pizzas which worked out perfectly. My new favorite pizza dough recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

This gluten-free cauliflower crust pizza can take on any topping!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States