Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Top notch! Our new favorite crust! The crust was crisp and chewy, and not floppy. I doubled the recipe, subbed olive oil, and honey instead of sugar. I added 2tsp vital gluten, 2 tsp Italian seasoning, 1tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 - 1/2 tsp black pepper. After the 1st rise I punched down, split in 1/2, rolled out and let rise a second on the pans. I then baked for 7min at 350 before topping and cooking for 15 minutes. My son doesn't normally eat the end of the crust, but he was dipping his in extra sauce because he loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is the ONLY recipe I used for pizza crust. I add basil, oregano, and parsley as well as crushed or minced garlic. I also don't use the dry milk powder and it comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Wow tried this last night, I made personal pizza's for the kids, and they loved it, so much that they want it again for lunch, so my bread machine is busy mixing. The only thing I did different is I had no lemon juice so I subtituted with vinegar and added a bunch of spices (garlic granules, oregano, italian seasoning, parmesan cheese, onion powder) and I poked holes in the crust before prebaking. This is absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I've made a lot of pizza doughs, and this was the best. It must be the dry powdered milk that is making the difference. I did find that it wouldn't double, though, in my bread maker. I ended up having to knead it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I opted for olive oil in place of the vegetable oil and it was absolutely perfect - We'll use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Nyp-Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a fabulous pizza crust. It is very similar to a hand-kneaded recipe I've used in the past but this one is even better. The bread machine makes the crust much lighter and airy, if that makes sense. I added some onion and garlic powder, ground rosemary and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, I only had powdered buttermilk on hand and used that instead. It has a slight tang so I eliminated the lemon juice. The dough does come out slightly sticky but it's nothing a gentle dusting of flour won't fix. I bake my pizza in an electric oven at 425° for about 12-14 minutes which is perfect. Nice and brown on the bottom, soft, chewy and delicious. This is the only pizza crust that I will eat the whole piece including the edges. Thank you very much for this excellent recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This pizza crust won high honors in our home, as well with the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very good. This was the easiest and most elastic dough I have ever worked with. I'm not too experienced with dough but if I had had the know-how I could have twirled this one in the air, it was so elastic and so easy to work into shape! (I did try to figure out how, but after dropping it on the table, fear of losing it the floor stopped further attempts!) I don't have a bread machine so I mixed hot water, yeast, and sugar in a small bowl and let it stand until foamy, about 15 min. Then I added the lemon juice, oil, and salt and mixed it. I mixed the milk powder with flour in a big bowl and then added the liquids and stirred til it was too thick for the wooden spoon then used my hands to knead in the last bits of flour. Made this into a ball, covered it with a Tbl of so of olive oil and covered the bowl with a damp towel and let it rise for about an hour. Then made two pizzas with this. Great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Thank you so much! This recipe sounds deliciious and I can hardly wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Great pizza dough!!! I have used this recipe over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States