Pizza Crust for Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Momi
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Perfect pizza crust! It is even better when made with bread flour, and I usually sub garlic salt instead of plain. I found semolina flour made by Bob's Red Mill. The dough was a little sticky - previously, I had sprinkled some flour on it and the counter - use white rice flour for this instead, it won't alter the texture of the crust they way wheat flour does. I use this crust both on a pizza stone and on a gas grill (see recipe for Pizza On The Grill II). When I bake this in the oven, I make two pizzas; on the grill, I use this recipe to make 12 small pizzas. I used to use corn meal on my pizza stone, but have found that wheat germ tastes better and is less gritty. This crust stays light colored after it is baked. Thank you for the great recipe, Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
The crust was nice and chewy. However, mine did not get crisp on the outside...and I even baked it on a pizza stone. Good recipe, but I am still in search of the perfect at-home crust....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
As a beginning cook, I enjoy making pizza dough and have found that using the bread machine makes life a lot easier. This recipe was tasty and made enough for a pizza, especially when my family loves pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I found working with the dough very easy. The first time I used a full recipe and it made a very thick crust. The next time I made a half a recipe and got a very thin crust. I think 3/4 a recipe would make the perfect size crust for one pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I'm so glad to see another pizza crust recipe with semolina flour. I've been experimenting but could never get it quite right. It is a very essential ingredient. Other pizza crusts without semolina flour are too bread-like. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
You won't ever need another pizza base recipe. This was so light and tasty. The kids declared we need never phone out for pizza again (I'm not too sure about that one!). The dough is a little wet to work but use plenty of flour for rolling and it will be fine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I loved the different flour it made it lighter and fluffier than most heavier dough recipes. It was also very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
this was a great crust! the semolina makes a huge difference. I baked it at 400, and it was great. next time I will try 425, I like it brown. I dont have a bread machine and it turned out awesome. I froze the remaining dough and made calzones which were even better than the pizza. Ive already shared this recipe...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This makes the best crust for homemade pizza and cheesy bread. I served both at a party and made the crusts the day before and kept in the fridge. Talk about deep dish, they were great. It worked great for stuffed crust too (Mozz. string cheese tucked all around the edge). Extra yummy. Will be the only pizza crust I use from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This dough was perfect and makes a big pie. I don't own a bread machine so I mixed all the ingredients except 1/2 cup of flour. Put dough in bowl sprayed with olive oil on both sides and let rise till double. Then I kneaded in the rest of the flour or a little more till not sticky and easy to handle till feels velvet smooth. I hold back some of the flour on bread recipes until after the first rising. I can never judge the moisture content in flour and don't want my bread to be overly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States