Pizza Crust Fantastico Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is a followup to say the crust was the best I've ever made. I stand by my decision to add 3 cups of extra flour. It has excellent texture and flavor, and was easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
The flavor was amazing! My husband and I both noticed that it is a filling slice of pizza with this crust. I did have to add quite a bit of flour while kneading it as the dough was too sticky to work otherwise. I substituted 3 TBS of Italian seasoning instead of the rosemary, oregano, and basil, because I did not have them separately. I also added garlic to the crust mix (we like garlic at our house!) I was skeptical of the tomato sauce at first, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I can't truly review this because I used whole wheet flour and corn meal for the recipe. I also had to keep adding more flour to it. With all that though, it still turned out the best whole wheat crust that I've made so far. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I can only give this 2 stars because as written it simply is not dough. It was way too wet. It's got great ingredients and on paper it was a stand out from the rest. Due to how sticky it was, I threw it out and started over making modifications. Modified, if interested, I used about 1 cup of water, 1/4 cup tomato sauce, 1/2 cup corn flour and 2 cloves roasted garlic, only 1/2 tsp italian seasoning blend b/c I was making it into mexican pizza....hardly the original recipe. I rolled it thin and heated my stone to 500 instead of 450...we don't like crust too chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This is the best homemade pizza crust that my husband and I have ever had. I think the secret is the tomato sauce and herbs in the crust along with different kinds of flours. Highly recommend as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Super fantastisco! I read all the reviews and then made my dough in the bread machine. (Cheater, I know.) I did add extra flour as needed and then let rise. Bake as normal. Can't say enough about what a great crust this is. The search is over for a great pizza crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I,too, was compelled to add 1 cup more of flour while the mixture was in the bowl. I added small dustings of flour during the kneading process. As for flavor, this recipe is clearly a five star. I made a thin crust pizza and the crust was crunchy yet easy to bite. Because my sauce has all the herbs in this recipe, I did not add them. Instead, I added Spanish Cracked Anise. (Penzy's.com) After making the pizza crust, I had more than half the recipe remaining. Because of the quantity yeast, I let it rise in a breadpan and baked it as a loaf of bread.(30 min @ 350 degrees.) It turned out a beautiful loaf that is light to eat and very flavorful. Made great toast with butter. I intend to use it for Garlic bread, Bruchetta and croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
the taste of this crust was pretty good....but when I put it in the bowl to let it rise it didn't rise enough because the dough is too wet and sticky and then the directions said to put the raw crust and put the sauce and toppings on it and cook it...i have never heard of that before and cooking it that way was a flop!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherokee Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollister, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Thia was an alright recipe, but it didn't have hardly enough flour to go in it, so I added about 1 and MAYBE a half cups through the kneeding prosess, but it was still really gooy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Certainly one of the best doughs I have tried to make to date! I skipped alot of the seasonings, though. Also, I didn't find it that hard to work with as others have said. Great dough! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States