Pixley On a Stick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
We had this for dinner tonight. It was very good, and we will be having it again! Next time we will do a couple things different though. We will cut the chicken a little smaller, about 2 bites per piece, we will lay the bacon on top of the chicken and secured it with toothpick instead of wrapping it, and we will NOT use thick cut bacon. The bacon was difficult to get cook all the way because it was too thick and it was wrapped. The ranch dressing powder was perfect with the white sugar, it turned into a little crust and was possibly my favorite part. So in conclusion, we really like the taste of the sweet ranch powder on the bacon and chicken, definitely worth doing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I think if you fry the bacon until it's about half done and then wrap the chicken in it it will finish cooking in the oven and come out crispy without putting it under a broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This's something that I have to taste very soon at home, I know, I'm gonna love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Bacon doesn't cook enough, and putting under broiler to crispen up only dries out the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I love these! The bacon doesnt get super crispy, but I dont mind that at all; I took the advice of one review and used half the sugar, and used brown sugar, put the toothpick in the side, cooked for 15 minutes, turned the chicken.bacon pieces over, and cooked for another 15 minutes, and they turned out fabulous!!! I only got a couple of them the first time I made them, they went so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These were good. Had good flavor. I broiled them for the last 5-10 mintues so that the bacon would get crispy. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
we did not care for these at all. The bacon did not crisp up in the oven; you couldn't even taste the ranch dressing; and the chicken chunks are way too big. I don't even want to put the effort in to try to tweak it. A no go for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Amazing Appetizer!!! What fun and SO TASTY! It couldn't be more simple, but be sure to use Silpat or non-stick foil b/c it is Super Sticky. We had this for New Year's snacks and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTAHMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Delicious. I was afraid the bacon was going to be really soggy on this, but it turned out fantastic. I loved the ranch/sugar coating that turned crispy on the outside, too, but I had WAY too much of it. Next time I'll cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
These were very similiar to the bacon wrapped little smokies I've made before. I am not sure that the ranch added much flavor, and you could probably use the Italian seasoning that others suggested. I would also use brown sugar instead of white the next time. I used a package of bacon and 4 chicken breasts with half of the sugar/ranch mix. If you like them crispy, broil them for a few minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese on a Stick

Serve your Caprese salad on toothpicks for a fun, easy appetizer.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States