Pittsburgh Style Chipped Ham Barbeque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was really yummy! I had lots of leftover spiral ham and was looking for something different to do with it. I used the unsliced end of the ham, and cooked it in the crock pot all day. Thinking about using the leftovers for a home-made ham pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Sweet, tangy, barbecuey goodness on a bun. I used mesquite smoked shaved ham (lunchmeat ham) and put this on an onion bun for a wonderful hot meal in minutes. Fast, simple, and delicious, what more could you ask? Thanks Princesscook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Maybe you have to be from Pittsburgh to love these. I also use Heinz ketsup, of course! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Isaly's was a Deli/Soda Fountain type shop that was in the Pittsburgh area for many years. There were quite a few of them back in the 50's/60's. They introduced "Chipped Ham". All it is really is formed, pressed ham (like a chopped ham loaf) but it's claim to fame is the way it is sliced - paper thin so that there are some slices that you could literally see through and "chips" of the loaf that are equally thin but did not quite make it to a whole slice. The Isaly company still makes the ham loaf and it's own Barbeque sauce for ham barbeque sandwiches. I have fond memories of stopping there as a child after church on Sunday. My dad would buy a pound of chipped ham and some provolone cheese (in my house on fresh Italian bread but mom would indulge us with Wonder Bread and mayo even though she detested both) and we would have the sandwiches for lunch as soon as we got home. The key was eating the ham before it hit the refrigerater; it always tasted best freshly chipped. Their ice cream was also to die for; lots of different flavors and you would occasionally get a chip of dried ice in there, too. If memory serves me correctly, they also had an off shoot restaurant called Sweet William's that was popular in the 70's/80's. It was a sit down restaurant that was more like a diner type place; no alcohol but you could get a really good breakfast, lunch or dinner at a reasonabe price; They had a "Swiss Salad" that was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was one of those recipes that had lots of positive reviews. So, I decided to trust the masses.....and they were wrong. If you're reading the recipe and you're thinking to your self, "Self, this does NOT sound good." Listen to yourself--you're smarter than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I was born and raised in Pittsburgh, and it has been so long since I've had a BBQ chipped ham sandwich. I cannot WAIT to get off work now! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Ham BBQ is the best! I'm originally from Western PA but now live in Ohio. I make it for big get togethers in a crock pot so it just stays hot and people can eat when they want to! Because of the high sugar content, you want to put it on warm or low after it's heated through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I grew up in Cleveland, but my parents are from SW PA... we had this sandwich all the time when I was little. I was asking somebody about it the other day and they never heard of it. Thank you for posting this recipe, now I can show it to everybody!! Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. I read the other reviews and have to concur that onions are an essential part of what I remember about Chipped Ham BBQ sandwiches. We use Heinz Ketchup of course and chili sauce with brown sugar and a tiny bit of liquid smoke. I will make this recipe as a change up for our recipe. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V Renée Lord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
We've been making ham barbeques like this for a long time! The only thing we do differently is sautee a some finely diced green pepper and onion in a little oil first, then proceed with the recipe. These are super simple and very tasty~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States