Pittsburgh Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was a very cheesy potato recipe, just what we were looking for! I did add some crushed ritz on top, then dotted with butter because we like a little added crunch, but did not make other changes. It's been a long while since I've used Velveeta...mom used to use it often for homemade mac and cheese, potatoes au gratin and cheese sauce. Thanks Brad P. for a blast from the past comfort dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is a great dish, and my mother made it for years. Try peeling and dicing potatoes before boiling--takes less time. Remove from heat when potatoes still have some crunch. Add a jar of diced pimento for extra good flavor. We always topped the dish with toasted corn flake crumbles in butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I was impressed with these -- I'm not normally a fan of Velveeta because it is processed, but I can see a use for it if it turns out creamy, cheesy cooking like this recipe! I added some bacon to this recipe to give a little bit of extra flavor to it. My boyfriend raved and said this tasted like his grandmother's macaroni and cheese -- definitely a high compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Perfect!!! I used red onions instead of yellow, left out the paprika, but added roasted garlic! Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wada Mann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS! I even added diced pre-cooked ham to it. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I used pre-packaged home fries rather than potatoes and I added bacon and green olives as a topping. It turned out great! It was just a little cheesier than I've seen other versions of Pittsburgh potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These potatoes are just okay in my opinion. Very bland and desperately in need of something to make them special. They're basically just cheesy potatoes. If I make them again I'll definitely add garlic and cayenne and maybe even some green or red pepper and chives. There's not enough onion in the recipe to even taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe needs tweaking. First, what kind of potatoes? Cube w/peel or not? I did russets and had WAY too much & peel was not tasty. It wouldn't fit in a 2 qt and then the cooking time had to be extended. Better re-heated the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I thought this had almost no flavor and too many calories that werent worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misti Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northern Cambria, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Easy to prepare and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States