Pittsburgh Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My husband hates sour cream so I was a bit worried about this one, but he loved it. It didn't have a strong sour cream taste and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Quick and easy. Watch the the cheese/butter in saucepan. Will burn easy even on low setting w/ gas stove. Must stir constantly. Lots of flavor. My 14 yr old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good potatoes! I am from Pittsburgh and It brought back very happy memories. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I liked the which from scalloped potatoes which I usually make. I did alter the recipe with less onion for a picky eater and I changed the velveta to 1 1/2 cups and half a cup of mozzerella. I also added about 1/8 tsp garlic powder and right before I took it out I put additional cheese and some chopped cooked bacon on top. Everyone loved them, but next time I will put in the 1/3 cup onion for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TARAWVU
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I grew up just south of Pittsburgh and this is always a staple at picnics and family reunions. Thanks for posting. I always forget to ask for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
To make it healthier I used yogurt instead of sour cream (whole milk yogurt), and still it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! I had my in-laws and parents for dinner so I doubled it. It was creamy and so good. I added bacon bits and sprinkled the top with chives too. Very, very good! I will make this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I brought this to a potluck, and it must have been good because there wasn't any left! The taste was ok in my opinion, and I might use more onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Quick and easy to make, not a lot of fuss. I had several baked potatoes left over from a previous meal and used them. Very creamy and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious! The only thing I changed was to halve the recipe, but due to my husband's enthusiastic reaction, next time I'm making a full batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Leo, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States