Pittsburgh Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Easy to prepare and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna N.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I made as directed but added some leftover ham. The whole family loved it. The sour cream & onions made them so flavorful. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I have tried unsuccessfully to make cheese potatoes for years. THey tend to be too greasy or not cooked enough. THis was awesome and I will use it every time. Everything is better Pittsburgh-style!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These aren't too bad, but bland in my opinion. The onion doesn't add enough for me and I can't really taste the salt and pepper. I think it needs some minced fresh garlic and maybe a tad cayenne to spice it up a bit. I'm not a huge fan of creamy dishes, so it does take a lot to please me with this type of stuff. I think I'd like it better if I felt the flavor was worth it. I wasn't sure how many potatoes to really use, as I have huge potatoes. I went with 5 and really only used 3 1/2, so medium or small potatoes are probably more ideal. We'll eat the remaining potatoes I boiled, though, so it's no big deal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Delicious! The only thing I changed was to halve the recipe, but due to my husband's enthusiastic reaction, next time I'm making a full batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nan W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Leo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Quick and easy to make, not a lot of fuss. I had several baked potatoes left over from a previous meal and used them. Very creamy and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I brought this to a potluck, and it must have been good because there wasn't any left! The taste was ok in my opinion, and I might use more onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was FANTASTIC! I had my in-laws and parents for dinner so I doubled it. It was creamy and so good. I added bacon bits and sprinkled the top with chives too. Very, very good! I will make this forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
To make it healthier I used yogurt instead of sour cream (whole milk yogurt), and still it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TARAWVU
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I grew up just south of Pittsburgh and this is always a staple at picnics and family reunions. Thanks for posting. I always forget to ask for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States