Pittsburgh Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used half ketchup/half barbeque sauce, added in some fresh minced garlic and I spread garlic butter on the kaiser rolls THEN I toasted them. My family LOVED these sandwiches. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
As a Pittsburgh native, this is exactly the way Ham Barbecue should taste. This would be one of my favorite dishes my mom made when I was younger (paired with pierogies of course). I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is the same as my mom's recipe except for 2 ingredients. We use Heinz (Pittsburgh) Chili Sauce and we don't use yellow mustard. The amount of vinegar is 2T and 1 to 2T of brown sugar. We like them sour. I must say that this recipe is the closest that I've seen! I grew up 30min north of the 'burgh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Just what I was looking for, didn't add the optional relish, but followed the recipe exactly otherwise, and these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I am originally from Pittsburgh so when I couldn't reach my mother to get her recipe I decided to try this one. The flavors are very similar but this sauce is thicker. Also, its very important to use Isleys chopped or "chipped" ham, if your region sells it. The ham makes this sandwich! My mothers recipe is quite different though, she uses the onion and butter, 1 bottle of Heinz chili sauce, fill the chili bottle with water, 1 tablespoon of vinegar and a 1 tablespoon of sugar. So the only reason I gave it this rating was because of the thickness, was hoping for a thinner sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Very good! Being from Pittsburgh, I have the luxury of buying Isaly's Ham Barbecue Sauce, lol, so I've never made my own, but thought I would give it a shot today. This was super simple to throw together and I actually had everything on hand which made it extra awesome. My family really enjoyed this, and I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great Pittsburgh original! Very similar to the recipe I wrote in the Pittsburgh Cookbook. @ www.PittsburghCookbook.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I grew up on these. Can't get chipped ham here in VA so everytime we go "home", I usually bring back about 10 pounds (of Islay's) and keep it in the freezer to make my sandwiches. Can't watch a Steeler Super Bowl without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was way to sweet, I ended up tossing it in the trash because no one would eat it sorry it just was not for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent taste and very easy. I leave out the butter, go with extra vinegar for tanginess, and add cloves (~10 per lb). If in a hurry, can skip the mustard and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States