Pittsburgh Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used half ketchup/half barbeque sauce, added in some fresh minced garlic and I spread garlic butter on the kaiser rolls THEN I toasted them. My family LOVED these sandwiches. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent taste and very easy. I leave out the butter, go with extra vinegar for tanginess, and add cloves (~10 per lb). If in a hurry, can skip the mustard and Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was a great barbecue sandwich! Super tangy and a hint of sweet.I used mesquite smoked shaved ham for this. It turned out very saucy and needed a bit more ham to even it out. I cooked it and cooked it to see if I could reduce it some and get a better ratio plus I like a thicker sauce and this was thin. Good overall though and we'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Good but too goopy and sweet-never realized this was Pgh favorite!! I lived in Pittsburgh for 43 years and loved Isaly's chipped ham--but we always made our barbeques by heating the ham with a little water and a squirt of Worcesterhire sauce--them piling it on a bun and adding pickle relish and a squirt of Heinz chili sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Braddock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Great Pittsburgh original! Very similar to the recipe I wrote in the Pittsburgh Cookbook. @ www.PittsburghCookbook.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I grew up on these. Can't get chipped ham here in VA so everytime we go "home", I usually bring back about 10 pounds (of Islay's) and keep it in the freezer to make my sandwiches. Can't watch a Steeler Super Bowl without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Super! I'm an inner-city Pittsburgher and I always LOVED these. Definitely use HEINZ CHILI SAUCE. Of course, Islays chipped ham is THE best, but other types will substitute. GOOOO STEELERS! PS: I live in Cowboy country now, and I still drape my windows with terrible towers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I am originally from Pittsburgh so when I couldn't reach my mother to get her recipe I decided to try this one. The flavors are very similar but this sauce is thicker. Also, its very important to use Isleys chopped or "chipped" ham, if your region sells it. The ham makes this sandwich! My mothers recipe is quite different though, she uses the onion and butter, 1 bottle of Heinz chili sauce, fill the chili bottle with water, 1 tablespoon of vinegar and a 1 tablespoon of sugar. So the only reason I gave it this rating was because of the thickness, was hoping for a thinner sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very yummy, I did not add all that butter, and i thought it was great , i am from Pa and have never had this but yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was way to sweet, I ended up tossing it in the trash because no one would eat it sorry it just was not for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States