Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
What is chipped ham??? Yunz gotta be a 'Burgher to know that chipped ham is shaved ham. Any kind of deli baked ham can be used, cut very thinly or shaved. In Pittsburgh, it is "chipped". An early version of this dish used a local brand, Isaly's Chipped Chopped Ham, a rather greasy but tasty composite loaf. One of those things you really didn't want to know what the contents really were. Anyway, I use a similar recipe with more vinegar and brown sugar, and onions and garlic, too. This is a very convenient and good-tasting sandwich to take to a picnic (use the crockpot) or to sell at a fund-raiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Yins are gonna love 'ese chipped ham barbecues. Perfect for watching them Stillers play football on the Norside of dahntahn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I live in Pgh now, but I didn't grow up here. Knowing how particular Pittsburghers can be about their ham bbq, I was nervous to try making it myself. But, I made your recipe, and all my hubby's relatives (natives)have absolutely RAVED about it, saying it is the best they've had. It made me proud, so thanks a ton! That was 2 years ago, and I still make it often. I make it exactly as written, too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Gotta love anything Pittsburgh! My children were both born at Magee Womens and we lived in da Burgh for 11 years! Anyway, we love these. When in a hurry, I just put the ham in the skillet, put either Sweet Baby Ray's or KC Masterpiece on and get the mixture good and thick, then I add a little Sprite or other lemon lime drink, thicken that a bit and have the most delicious sandwiches! My oldest asks me for these and now can make them himself! Go Pens, Steelers and Pirates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I am from Pgh and this is one of the best recipes for using chipped ham that I have found...THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
WOO HOO! Finally a recipe that tasted just as I remembered it! I added a tbsp of grape jelly b/c I was told my uncle used to do the same thing, but kept everything else the same. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
A Pittsburgh tradition! And ohhhhhhh so good. Have to buy Isaly's Chipped Ham to be authentic though! Will be on a lot of Super Bowl tables this weekend. Go Steelers!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I grew up on Chipped Ham Barbecues. I was a little leary of the cinnamon and now wish I'd left it out. This was pretty good, but the cinnamon just didn't do it for me. The tangy-sweet and slightly smoky flavors are plenty, but the cinnamon was overkill. Next time I will leave it out. I also wish I'd had another 1/4 lb of ham to throw in as there was too much sauce letover. Thanks for a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Tastes just like the barbecue sandwiches I had when I was growing up in Pittsburgh! I was delighted to find authentic Isaly's chopped ham in the deli at our local store (in the eastern panhandle of WV, no less!). It just doesn't taste the same with anything else! But the "what to drink" suggestion...Riesling??? Really??? Come on, you can't drink anything but Iron City beer with this! I even put a little in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Even if you are not from the Pittsburgh area-you have to give these a try! Easy to make and ohhhh so good! Thin sliced or deli "chipped" that is how they actually sell the meat in the Pittsburgh area-which is just ham shaved pretty much-work the best-go the farthest as well, but you can just use sliced ham from the deli as well. Tavern, honey, smoked, all are good-experiment to see which you like best. To be honest-we have liked them all and don't really have a favorite! Go Steelers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States