Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I USED SHAVED EAGLE VALLEY MAPLE HAM. ALSO SHAVED VIRGINA BAKED HAM, THIS IS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND VERY TASTY. MY HUSBAND RON REALLY LIKED THEM AS DID I. WE DON'T CARE FOR LIQUID SMOKE SO I LEFT IT OUT. AND I SERVED THEM ON SEMI HARD WHEAT BUNS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
It does'nt get better than this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Fast, easy, and delicious! A crowd pleasing favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
As a native Pittsburgher now living in St. Louis I thought the recipe was the best. Just hits the spot on these hot and humid days. Thanks Marcia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Excited to see this recipe listed. Left Pittsburgh many years ago and whole family loves Chipped Ham BBQ. It was really the best! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
What is chipped ham??? Yunz gotta be a 'Burgher to know that chipped ham is shaved ham. Any kind of deli baked ham can be used, cut very thinly or shaved. In Pittsburgh, it is "chipped". An early version of this dish used a local brand, Isaly's Chipped Chopped Ham, a rather greasy but tasty composite loaf. One of those things you really didn't want to know what the contents really were. Anyway, I use a similar recipe with more vinegar and brown sugar, and onions and garlic, too. This is a very convenient and good-tasting sandwich to take to a picnic (use the crockpot) or to sell at a fund-raiser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
How funny to find this recipe here. I have been making this for over 55 years!!!! However, I don't add the spices, just the ketchup, vinegar, less water and some onion and maybe a little more brown sugar. As I live in TX now this is a great change from the usual beef brisket BBQ made here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
This is a true Pittsburgh recipe! I usually don't add liquid smoke or cinammon and I think that everyone who grew up in Pgh has their own way to prepare it, but I LOVE HAM BBQ'S!!!!!! And this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I USED SLICED HAM INSTEAD OF CHIPPED HAM IN THIS RECIPE. I DIDNT REALLY CARE FOR THE SAUCE IN THIS. MAYBE WITHOUT THE RELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Isaly's chipped chopped ham and this recipe. Maybe it's a Pittsburgh thing...yum! Thanks Marcia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States