Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I grew up on chipped ham barbecues in the Pittsburgh area. We had them at home, at school and at church club. My husband had never heard of chipped ham and I couldn't wait to make these for him. Thank you so much for posting this recipe and Allrecipes for giving the nod to this Pittsburgh favorite in honor of the superbowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. It tasted wonderful and was so easy to make. We had these with the Tuscan Bean Soup on here and it went great together! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
WOO HOO! Finally a recipe that tasted just as I remembered it! I added a tbsp of grape jelly b/c I was told my uncle used to do the same thing, but kept everything else the same. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Smelled delicious as it was simmering, and tasted the same. Family loved it. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Can't say enough! Easy and tasty. I've shared this recipe with co-workers who had to suffer through me heating leftovers at work. Everyone loves it. I did add a bit of finely diced onion. I haven't added the liquid smoke as our grocery store doesn't carry it and I can't remember to check any others. My SO would prefer we have these once a week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Even if you are not from the Pittsburgh area-you have to give these a try! Easy to make and ohhhh so good! Thin sliced or deli "chipped" that is how they actually sell the meat in the Pittsburgh area-which is just ham shaved pretty much-work the best-go the farthest as well, but you can just use sliced ham from the deli as well. Tavern, honey, smoked, all are good-experiment to see which you like best. To be honest-we have liked them all and don't really have a favorite! Go Steelers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Awsome recipie. This is just as good if not better than the Islays sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Gotta love anything Pittsburgh! My children were both born at Magee Womens and we lived in da Burgh for 11 years! Anyway, we love these. When in a hurry, I just put the ham in the skillet, put either Sweet Baby Ray's or KC Masterpiece on and get the mixture good and thick, then I add a little Sprite or other lemon lime drink, thicken that a bit and have the most delicious sandwiches! My oldest asks me for these and now can make them himself! Go Pens, Steelers and Pirates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I've made this recipe before and it's fantastic! We used to get these in elementary school...such good memories. It's not your typical barbecue, maybe only those of us from the Burgh can truly appreciate it. But I'm cooking up a batch for the Super Bowl this sunday! Go Steelers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Excellent! Because I'm on the west coast, finding chipped ham is impossible. I used high quality Virginia ham and had the deli slice it as thin as possible. It worked great. I made this in the crockpot - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States