Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
We r from Pgh.. don't live there now so can't get the Islay's but as every1 else suggested just asked for thin sliced or shaved ham. I make it in a crock pot: layering meat, bbq sauce,lil ketchup, sprinkle brown sugar, relish, lil mustard.. just keep layering & stirring & then let all flavors combine on low til warm. Not an actual "recipe" cuz it's all by taste, in our family for years! I made 'em up here in northern NY & no1 had ever had anything like them. Pgh original anyway u make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyOf5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
What a great find! My husband and I both are originally from the Burg. We will be having this while watching the Steelers in the Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This makes for a very tasty ham sandwich, and I've gotten a lot of compliments with it. I make it in a slow cooker, but it tends to be very watery and creates a soggy bun. I reduce the water to just 1/4 cup. The water in the ham keeps it from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I'm from Pittsburgh and this recipe brought me back home...we used to use Isley's chipped ham to make these when I was a kid. This recipe is very good but another way to make it is equal parts chili sauce and ketchup then add bar-b-que sauce to taste. Thank you for this recipe! Now I'm homesick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I never heard of this til I married a Pittsburgher. My M-I-L uses spicy ketsup and I make it 1/2 spicy and 1/2 regular ketsup and put it in the crock pot on low for about three hours. I'm from Philly so I serve on Amoroso's steak rolls. Easy, yummy and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is the best I've tasted. DO NOT change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Newton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
A favorite cold day sandwich here in Western Pennsylvania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Great for a crowd! Liquid smoke is a great flavor.... a definite keeper. Yinz gotta try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKAJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This recipe reminded us of Harvey Ham Sandwiches (which were a lot easier to make). Still, we liked the taste and could see how the sandwich would have a faithful following. Thanks for a taste of your town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I hate to be the lone dissenter but, these were just your average bbq ham sandwiches. From all the raves I was expecting something more. I think I'll just keep making my bbq sandwiches with Saz's bbq sauce to keep things quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States