Pittsburgh Chipped Ham Barbecues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
YES! A taste of home on a bun! Recently moved to East Texas and let me start by saying it was quite the ordeal explaining to the deli employee what chipped ham was :| and how to shave it thin enough :| I crave the tastes of "Da Burgh" and this hit the spot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirkie1
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mineola, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
No offense, but I am hosting a superbowl party right now and ALL of my guests have very honestly informed me that this is the most terrible Ham BBQ recipe they have ever tasted. I am from Pittsburgh and am embarrassed to even have served this. (Yes i made it correctly, following all directions exactly as written/typed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These are too sweet and have too much relish for my family. It also doesnt have any onions... I would suggest using HEINZ CHILI SAUCE, ONIONS,ISALYS CHIPPED HAM..... MUCH BETTER !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brady, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Quick and easy! I made this tasty dish with Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce because I didn't have the other ingredients...I also added a dash of A1 Steak sauce. We never had BBQ Ham sandwiches and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Lived on these as a child. I skipped the relish and cinnamon the second time around. Not exactly like Isley's or my Mums, but pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I used left over ham that I chopped very small. My kids loved it and had second and thirds. It was a fun spin on sloppy joes and a great way to use up left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Munro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Just tasted like home. My dad couldn't have done any better. Really, really good. I'm a Pittsburgh lad too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I liked this a lot. I have never been to Pittburgh and really have nothing to compare this recipe to but it was good, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Tastes just like the barbecue sandwiches I had when I was growing up in Pittsburgh! I was delighted to find authentic Isaly's chopped ham in the deli at our local store (in the eastern panhandle of WV, no less!). It just doesn't taste the same with anything else! But the "what to drink" suggestion...Riesling??? Really??? Come on, you can't drink anything but Iron City beer with this! I even put a little in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I grew up on Chipped Ham Barbecues. I was a little leary of the cinnamon and now wish I'd left it out. This was pretty good, but the cinnamon just didn't do it for me. The tangy-sweet and slightly smoky flavors are plenty, but the cinnamon was overkill. Next time I will leave it out. I also wish I'd had another 1/4 lb of ham to throw in as there was too much sauce letover. Thanks for a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States