Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I buy several bags of pita bread and keep them in the freezer. Just heat the oven to 400, spread the sauce on a frozen "crust" (no need to defrost) and sprinkle on cheese and toppings. Bake for 5 to 7 minutes and a very quick dinner or snack (even breakfast sometimes for my kids!) is served! Really great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I'm giving this 5 stars, even though I changed the recipe. I just love finding a way to have pizza, if you want to eat whole grains instead of white flour. I think this is more low carb than having regular pizza as well. I may try using a pita in the future but I've been making this recipe using whole wheat tortillas. Instead of grilling them, I put them on aluminum foil on a cookie sheet. Then I spread a little olive oil on top, then red sauce, shredded lowfat mozzarella, & then whatever I want as a topping. I bake them at 350 degrees for about 15 to 20 minutes. Even though they're thin, you actually can pick them up to eat them like pizza slices. I've topped them at various times with fresh sliced mushrooms (which I've microwaved for a couple minutes 1st & drained so they wouldn't be too watery on the pizza), zucchini slices (partially microwaved 1st), & cooked drained ground meat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I sprayed my pita with cooking spray and saved a few grams of fat. I have since made this with green and red peppers, sliced mushroom and red onion, zucchini. Very quick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I really enjoyed the pizza especially the crispy crust (I used the oven). It was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
What a great appetizer! You can obviously do so much with this recipe to suit your own tastes. For something a little different, try using tortillas in place of the pita and top with either tomato or taco sauce and sprinkle with shredded cheddar and jack cheese. Fantastic Mindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
I added pesto, sun dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts--- Yum. Mu husband likes to add red sauce to make it more like a pizza. We make these weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This was fun! I used "garlic and herb" pitas, added some green bell peppers, chopped red onion, and some thinly sliced canadian bacon. I also used "pizza cheese" (a combo of cheddar and moz). Boy was I a skeptic about grilling this but it turned out really good - and VERY simple! I'll remember this for our upcoming camping trip! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Quick and easy dinner for a busy night. I also use bagels when I am out of Pita Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Awesome pizza, great camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
super easy, super fast, super tasty. everyone got to make whatever flavor they liked and the crust turned out just like thin and crispy crust. delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States