Pita Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is an awesome basic recipe. I made a family night out of it and each of the kids showed their artistic abilities. I put a whole bunch of different toppings and let the kids make their own and it was a blast. We now do this at least once a month. Thank you so much for the idea and the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
As with any other type of homemade pizza, by the time you buy the pitas, sauce, cheese, meat, & veggies, you are looking at a very expensive meal. But it is always fun for everyone to make their own creations, especially the kids. We tried grilling it a couple of different ways and found the best way is to grill for about 30 secs-1 minute on one side of the pita, then take it off the grill and load the cooked side with the toppings, then place back on the grill for a few more minutes til the cheese is melted. Will definitely make this again, although next time I might try doing it potluck style with some friends and have everyone bring a couple of ingredients to help bring down the cost. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I make these when I can find pitas on the clearance rack at my local grocery store. I like mine with EVOO, garlic, fresh basil, tomatoes and fresh parmesan. The kids are a little more traditional with homemade pizza sauce, pepperoni and italian blend cheese. It really is the best on the grill, but it tastes pretty good just out from under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
So easy and delicious! I cant believe i never thought to do this myself. I love pita, and i love pizza, so the two go naturally together. You can easily improvise to taste as well, add mushrooms, or pepperoni, onions, whatever you want! Love it, definitely will make this again on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a totally awesome recipe for our young family. The kids loved this, we did ours vege and their's mozz only. I was so full, I couldn't believe my son ate 3! My daughter help prepare, so SIMPLE! Delicious, surprisingly just as yummy as reg. pizza! I wish I had found this years ago! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
mmmmm, tasts better than regular pizza. You choose if you want a soft or crispy crust. I don't know why I didn't think of this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very Nice. you can change the toppings to everyone likes and it is easy to make. Will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
very good, filling, nutricious and easy to make. My daughter enjoyed it very much. I used whole wheat pita bread, lots of veggies and mozzarella cheese, yum. will definately make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This recipe is genius. I cannot believe that I didn't think of this first! I always have pita, spaghetti sauce, and shredded cheese at home so this is now a very convenient snack for us. I top it with whatever I have in the fridge that may sound good; onions, olives, pastrami, basil, turkey, etc. I don't grill them though, I just put them in the toaster oven and toast it for about 7-10mins. Thank you so much for this great recipe which has come in handy for snack/lunch so many times for me when I had nothing else to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
We've been doing these for years because it's the perfect do-it-yourself idea for large groups. You can chop, slice, prep ahead of time & have one person manning the grill. Everyone loves it because they choose their own favorite toppings! Some other choices: marinated artichokes, olives, red onion, peppers (green, red, hot, pickled), spinach, broccoli, fresh basil. Your favorite spaghetti sauce from the jar works just fine, too, and is less expensive than pizza sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pita Pizza

See how to make grilled individual pita pizzas.

Pizza on the Grill

See why conventional ovens just can’t touch the grill for making perfect pizza.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States