Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I liked these! I was looking for ways to use up some pita bread I had, and this was perfect. I don't have a brush, so I just drizzled the oil over the pita triangles, and then sprinkled the seasoning. (not the chervil, I don't have any). Thanks, Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were excellent! I am going to cut down on the salt portion a bit next time, maybe 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 1/2tsp garlic powder...but otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These are great! Per other reviewers' suggestions I cut my pita into 8 wedges, split, brushed each one with olive oil, then sprinkled with spice mixture. I also subbed parsley for chervil. Good with Smokey Chipotle Hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!! Everybody Loves them, I omitted basil and chervil, and used dried parsley and sprinkled with shredded parmesan cheese. Served them with hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have made a version of these e chips for a few years. I have always used butter instead of olive oil. I always slip them in half as well because I like my chips a little thinner. Also I just use garlic salt for a seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Really easy and very yummy! If you want your chips to be more crispy, just split the pita and then cut the triangles from those two pieces. Awesome with Hummus III recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amergin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe is so fun! You're easily able to make all different kinds of pita chips, and they taste delicious :) The varieties I made were salted, onion and pepper, garlic herb, and parmesan. I left them in my oven for 7 minutes exactly and they came out perfectly. I'd love to serve these at a party with some hummus and toum. This recipe makes plenty of pita chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Simple and delicious ... especially when they are warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Why would anyone buy chips after trying this? YUM. It is easy AND cheap. I can buy a bag of 16 freshly made 8" pitas at a local ethnic grocer for $1.89. That would make enough for a good party! Oh, it's easier to split the pita into two rounds, brush each half's inside with olive oil, sprinkle with seasoning(s) THEN cut in wedges. Goes quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I spray the pita bread with olive oil from a pump oil sprayer and then use kitchen shears to cut the pita into pieces. Once they are cut I add any herbs/spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States