Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. (had to go buy the chervil) It's good. But I still prefer 2 changes. Split the pitas open, it makes for a crispy chip. Be sure to cut back on the cooking time! Also, I had a basting oil with spices already in the oil and my husband preferred it that way. (Wegmans Brand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I make this will almost every meal but I only make them a tiny bit crispy so they can be used in the meal with rice, sauce, chicken, pasta, anything! I also don't bother using the chervil, still so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was really easy. I used 5 pitas and cut them each into 8 triangles. I used a pizza cutter to cut them. I used fresh garlic, italian seasoning, sea salt, black pepper, and 1/2 cup olive oil. I followed the temp & time and baked on a clay bakers tray. They turned out great! I broiled them for a bit too just to brown them more. I would like to make these and freeze to take to the cottage. Has anyone tried freezing them for later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
These were fairly easy to make, and came out delicious. I used a bit more oil than it suggests, and created a spice mixture including minced garlic and white pepper. I suggest baking them at the back of the oven, and rotating them once in a while so that they cook evenly. Mine were a TAD soft and chewy in the very middle, but only some. That was my fault. Otherwise, as I said, delicious pita chips. My middle eastern family approves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I wanted some pita chips while at the store and a bag of stacy's pita chips were 6.69. Really? So I bought a bag of pita bread for 69 cents. I made this exactly as stated and was a thousand time happier. I saved six bucks and these were really great warm out of the oven. I can't believe I actually had Chervil :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Awesome! I really enjoyed making and eating these pita chips! I used store bought pita this time but I am going to use a homemade Pita recipe (from this site) next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I very much enjoy making my own because I know what's in them; I can be creative. If you like a crispier chip, place them on a wire cooling rack and then on a cookie sheet to bake. It worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jansin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
used pita bread. Froze the extra and put them in 400 degree oven when using them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great base recipe. I like to mix parmasean with the oil before brushing the squares, then I sprinkle with spices and dried herbs. When pairing with hummus I sprinkled with dill, garlic powder and fresh cracked black pepper. When pairing with spinach artichoke dip I sprinkle with garlic powder, onion powder, basil and pepper. yum! I found they took longer than the recipe called for(about 10 mins), but I think the pitas I'm using are thicker and don't have a pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
They're in the oven now and smelling phenomenal! I did half olive oil and half ghee. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States