Pita Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy to follow and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was super easy in the bread machine- I just took it out when it was "rising" and followed the rest of the instructions. So long as you watch them and don't over bake, they turn out amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Carlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Followed Ashi's adendum (essential) and turned out great! I forgot to preheat the stone with the oven, so my first batch didn't turn out as well as the ones cooked on preheated stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Baked for 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Other sites said to use yogurt, so I substituted that for apple sauce. I'm pretty happy with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I just tried this tonight, and it turned out great! I think that I'll just tweak the amount of sugar/salt and perhaps use some garlic powder the next time. I especially appreciate its versatility and that apple sauce is used instead of oil! Thanks for the EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemagoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Amazing recipe, I can't believe how much they charge in the store for something that is so easy to make yourself at home. They even have the pocket inside! I baked mine on a pizza stone. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I added 1 tablespoon of water to the 8 serving version because the dough was dry and didn't hold together. I also substituted all-purpose flour for the pastry flour and added 1 teaspoon of gluten per cup of flour--both baking versions turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
very very easy to make, and darn good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made the pita bread with my own modifications. I changed the portion of pastry flour to 1 1/4 cups of bread flour. I also substituted 1 tablespoon of honey instead of 1 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. I used a standmixer with the dough kneader attached, then hand knead after that. Not mentioned in the recipe..., you need to put the dough in a warm area and let it rise for 30 minutes. Knead it the second time. Do a baguette roll to the dough (the technique can be found here). Pre-heat the oven to 500 degree F with the pizza stone inside (rack in the lower third). Cut the dough into 12 small pieces. Stack two pieces then roll them together (so the dough would have more air). Make sure the rolled out dough is near paper-thin (VERY important and this is what makes this recipe a pita instead of a thin crusted pizza dough). Spray some water on pizza stone before place the thin dough on top. Baked for 5-minutes or until it's slightly browned (so it'll be slightly crispy, puffy alone is not enough! Use your oven light to monitor). When ready, flip the lightly browned & puffy pita over (upsidedown) on a flat surface. Soak a piece of paper towel with water, then use it to press the pita down (slowly or it'll break). After the pita cooled to room temperature, put it in an air-tight container, if not consumed immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States