Pistou Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is an absolutely fabulous soup. The garlic in the basil pistou adds a real kick, almost like chilli. You can also change the vegetables to what you have in the fridge and I omitted the pasta and potatoes (husband is on a low carb diet). I added turnip, broad beans and only added one can of white beans (all I had). Filling as a meal (2 bowls) or a great first course. Serve with fresh crusty bread...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Really delicious! I was using up some garden veggies so I changed things slightly. I cut back on the green beans because I only had a few and only used two potatoes. I also added spinach and wilted it right before removing the soup from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
A very nice and filling soup, it has great flavor once you add the pistou. I sauteed onions and garlic in some olive oil before adding the rest of the veggies and the broth, and I added the zucchini and beans last (as others mentioned) b/c I knew it would become too soft if I added it with the potatoes and carrots. Enjoy with some crusty french bread and parmesan over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Very nice, not enough flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Lovely soup. I used beef and chicken broth and water and ditalini (small italian pasta) as a variant to original recipe. I find it very interesting to read what others do to modify the dish in keeping with what's in the cupboard. I also added a little salt, pepper and a shake or two of italian seasoning. The Pesto topper was crazy strong with garlic but I loved it and just added a teaspoon or so to each bowl as I served it. This will remain in my recipe box to make again. My neighbors love it when I make soup, because I share. Typical Italian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Yummy. Great tasting and filling meal that is meatless. I was surprised my teenage son actually could fill himself up with this meal! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adrienne
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Though, I made pesto instead of pistou because I had pinenuts on hand. It's a very good idea to add the softer veggies at the end to prevent them from being over cooked. I sliced and toasted French bread and topped with extra pesto and cheese. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
My family loves this soup! It has become our new fall favorite. I make it with or without adding pasta. It is also good over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This soup has great flavor. I too used chicken broth because it's what I had on hand and added the zucchini with the pasta. I only had the parm. cheese so I didnt use the other...Still good! I wonder if the olive oil could have been less...I think probably so if you want it to be even healthier. Overall this is a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ClubFerndale
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
A great, hearty, healthy & low-fat soup for a chilly Fall night. Definitely add the zucchini and green beans (I added sliced baby portobello mushrooms also) toward the END of cooking time, not at the beginning, or they'll be mush. I used tiny elbow macaroni instead of broken spaghetti, and cooked it separately before adding to the pot. The tomato-basil pistou definitely makes this soup (and sidenote: try dunking some bread in the pistou before you add it all to the soup...mmm!). On it's own, it's just an ordinary (bit bland) veggie/bean soup but the pistou gives it a great flavour punch. Served with some shavings of a good parm reggiano, crusty bread, and a decent chardonnay, this is a very warming and satisfying meal. Looking forward to taking leftovers for lunch at work this week! (makes a big pot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States