Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I tried this recipe for my Daycare kids, and they loved it. Very easy to make in a matter of minutes, which is great for a daycare provider. We used the pineapple juice and did not put the banana in the salad. The kids loved it so much, they wanted more for their after nap snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I am laughing while I read all these reviews. You all figured it out. You need to use the pudding mix; not prepared, skip the bananas & drain the pineapple. My mother has made this for every Thanksgiving dinner I can remember. My aunt made the mistake of offering to make it about 6 years ago but when my mother gave her the recipe, she didn't tell her to skip the juice & just use the mix, don't make the pudding. To this day, my mother denies sabbotaging my aunt those years ago when she showed up with a green soupy mess. Thanks for the laugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe was AWESOME! The flavors and textures worked well. What I did was drained the pineapple juice from the fruit and only used 1 cup of the juice. I blended the pudding with the juice until thick ( almost right away) and then added just a wee bit more juice to the pudding and blended until thick but smooth. I also added 1/4 teaspoon Almond Extract to the pudding. Then adding the pineapple into the pudding I folded in the whipped topping. I completed this with the bananas and I used roasted diced up pistachios instead of walnuts. I will make this all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I took the advice of another reviewer and mixed the pudding with the pineapple juice. I did not use bananas at all. I did add 1/3 cup of coconuts. Good! I will only make this recipe with large holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
UGH. Soupy isn't the word for it. It was terrible!! IF, you use dry pudding mix, and apples instead of the pineapple, or at LEAST take the syrup off the pineapple, it will be better. I tried it again, doing that, and it was eatable, but I'll never try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I think the recipe needs a few adjustments: Make sure you stir the pudding in with the pineapples and their juice and let it thicken a little. Next, I used 2c mini marshmellows and omitted the banana. It came out the with a good frothy texture after letting it chill for several hours and was enjoyed by MOST members of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly. i wanted to make it for thanksgiving. It turned out like soup! it was so runny even after i refridgerated it overnite! Ive checked other recipes and they all use dry pudding mix and drain the pineapple. this was the only recipe i found that has you prepare the pudding first. needless to say i didnt serve it and wasted time and money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I love this recipe, it is quick and easy. There is no cooking involved so even kids can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salamanca, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
I must have done something wrong when I tried this recipe for Memorial Day. It came out like soup. I was expecting something light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States