Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I loved it, but I also added coconut to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I love this salad my fav!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
DITTO to what is said below. READ the directions people. DO NOT make the pudding beforehand. Mix DRY pudding with the pineapple. Sheesh. Delish AS WRITTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
If you READ the directions, it turns out perfectly!!! I left out the bananas and walnuts because the kids aren't thrilled with them, but make these changes: Mix the pudding MIX (POWDER) with the crushed pineapple (UNDRAINED), then fold in the whipped topping and finish with marshmallows. Voila. Easy peasy. Made it this way for years and have never had a failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm having a hard time wrapping my brain around WHY people made the pudding according to the package directions when the recipe never said that! I have been making this recipe for most of my adult life and it's always a hit. I will say that I've never seen a version with bananas in it and I omitted them. Also, do NOT add the juice! The pinapple contains just enough juice to make the salad creamy and allows it to hold it's shape and not become soupy. I not only drain the pineapple, I press out any remaining juice and discard it. The recipe is great with those changes. I would have given it five stars if it were not for the addition the bananas and the juice. Bananas just don't work well in this recipe. Also, the addition of the juice will ruin it. Make it with those changes, use about a 1/2 package of mini marshmallows and use finely chopped walnuts or pecans and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
great to have something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made it just like the recipe said, was fabulous.(no where does it say prepare it like on the box.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My family always called this "green death," not bc we hated it, but some family friends used to say that to fluster their mother. We always drain the pineapple, skip the nuts and bananas and use about 3/4 a bag of mini marshmallows. It's way better if you let it sit for a couple hours or so so that the marshmallows soak up moisture and get soft (instead of chewy if you eat it right away). Definitely don't make the pudding...I've accidentally done that as a kid. Try using different pudding mixes, too. My sis made a white choc. raspberry death once (delicious), and this year was pumpkin death (not that great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Classic and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
My family loves this almond flavored, fluffy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States