Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Mine turned out perfectly. Apparently people can't read a recipe. No where in this recipe does it say to make the pudding first. It says to fold the pudding mix, which would be the mix right out of the pudding package, into the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe should not be followed as indicated. Do not prepare the pudding. Dry mix only. Do not add the syrup, it will be too sweet and soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Do not make pudding mix according to directions. Mix one large pkg of pudding mix with the pineapple and juice. Eliminate the banana but you can use a small jar of candied cherries. I use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe should read: DO NOT make according to pkg directions. You just mix the pudding with the cool whip! I've made this for years and it never comes out soupy if you do it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This looks alot like my grandma's Watergate salad recipe. Instead of making the pudding according to the box, try folding it into the whipped topping. Then fold in the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
DO NOT mix the pistachio pudding per the box directions. This will produce the soup like consistency described in some of the other reviews. Mix in the dry pudding mix only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This turned out like soup. I tried adding more marshmallows but that didn't help. I think this recipe should read DO NOT prepare pudding according to directions, it should use only the pudding powder, not adding the 2 cups of milk like the pudding directions state. Very dissapointing, especially when making it for a house full of company. Embarassing to have it come out like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Recipe is flawed!! You MUST drain the pineapple and DO NOT prepare the pudding mix. Cut bananas turn brown overnight in the fridge, omit or add just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I added some yogurt and next time I would drain the pineapple instead of putting the juice in. Other than that it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Yummy! Just like Grandma used to make. I omitted the bananas as I wanted to be able to eat leftovers without having brown, mushy bananas. If I knew I wouldn't have leftovers, I would have put them in. I didn't put the nuts in because my family are not nuts over nuts. I did, however, add a medium can of mandarin oranges. It added a little color and gave the flavor a boost. I drained them first as not to add too much liquid to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States