Pistachio Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
really moist , i used a cream cheese icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
---> Have made this for many years in a bundt pan, but use my homemade buttercream frosting with a splash of almond extract… I called it the “KERMIT THE FROG CAKE” (it’s already green enough, so you do not have to add green food coloring) and let younger nephew/nieces decorate with a variety of candies like chocolate stars, M&Ms, candy corn, etc. They LOVED doing that and STILL remember now that they are adults! Yes, as they decorated, there were many licked fingers that 'somehow' got into the frosting! Very moist & delish; still a favorite of mine. ~ NOTE: Have also done the same with a Cherry Chip cake mix (with a splash of almond extract added to the batter) with homemade buttercream frosting tinted pink frosting [with with a splash of both vanilla and almond extract]. Of course, the pink version we called the "MISS PIGGY CAKE." (Sesame Street was obviously very popular in those days)... ~ Good memories and a wonderful (easy) change from the "expected" chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Ok, but just tastes like a boxed cake mix, most cake is good, but nothing special here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I love this cake! I think next time I'll add finely chopped pistachios to the batter, but it's great without them. Perfectly moist but not to the point where it falls apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love this cake and have been making it for years--I have to say in my opinion it is much prettier if you use white cake mix instead of yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is one of those recipes I get asked to bring to gatherings. To make it with a heavier pound cake consistency add an 8 oz container of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I used melted butter instead of the 1/4 cup oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very good!! Made it for my dads birthday & everyone ate it up :) simple to make as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
YUMMY!!! I put in 2 9 inch pans and baked about 30 min then frosted with almond buttercream. sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was a five minute whip it together dessert that tasted moist and fabulous with just enough pistachio flavoring. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States