Pistachio Nut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I found the icing to be too sweet as well. The 2nd time I made it I used layer cake pans. I decided to use Cool whip to icing it and refrigerated it. When I was ready to serve, I squeezed magic shell around the edge of the cake, letting it run a little down the side. After slicing, you can drizzle a little on the slice, or if concerned about the oils in Magic shell, use chocolate syrup. I think it keeps the flavor of Cathie's cake, but tones down the over sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It was as I remembered,my mother use to make this when we were young and as I started a family and now have my Grand daughter in the kitchen with me at nine, a fun cake to do together,Every Ingredient was on target except for the soda water,mom always used a lemon lime soda as I do now, such as sprite to adds a tad of citrus to it and a white cake instead of yellow and also 1 small package of the pudding also in the cake..Full of Flavor and a family Favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Bezy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious! So moist and flavorful. The only 2 things I changed was I used white cake mix and coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I've made this cake many times for my son who's birthday is on March 17th. It always turns out good. I use a sprite or 7up instead of club soda. I also use cool whip instead of the instant whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but, unfortunately, I thought this cake was mediocre. It tasted very fake and processed, and didn't have as much pistachio flavor as I would have expected using a total of 2 boxes of pudding mix. I served it for St. Patrick's Day, most people thought it was okay, but I ended up throwing about a third of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trappedinMN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Reminds me of the cake my mother used to make me! Very delicate crumb; I baked it in two 8" layers and it was tricky keeping the layers together. I'm sure as a bundt cake it's perfect! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Just tastes like any old cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Add 3 boxes of pudding butter pecan cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My grandma used to make this for me, I have such fond memories of it! She would always fill the hole with the frosting, & I'm pretty sure she flavoured the cake mix with almond extract or something, because as I remember it the whole thing was quite pistachio-y. Green food colouring for the batter is a must too, if you're making for the family. Really helps with the presentation. Thanks for posting, I can hardly wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this cake this weekend for a get together and it was a hit. It was wonderful in a very understated way. When you ate it, you realized it was good and light, super moist but you didn't want to smear it all over yourself - not that good. BUT both me and my husband, after leaving the cake at a friends house kept thinking about and craving this cake - it's special that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States