Pistachio Nut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It was as I remembered,my mother use to make this when we were young and as I started a family and now have my Grand daughter in the kitchen with me at nine, a fun cake to do together,Every Ingredient was on target except for the soda water,mom always used a lemon lime soda as I do now, such as sprite to adds a tad of citrus to it and a white cake instead of yellow and also 1 small package of the pudding also in the cake..Full of Flavor and a family Favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Bezy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious! So moist and flavorful. The only 2 things I changed was I used white cake mix and coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I've made this cake many times for my son who's birthday is on March 17th. It always turns out good. I use a sprite or 7up instead of club soda. I also use cool whip instead of the instant whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but, unfortunately, I thought this cake was mediocre. It tasted very fake and processed, and didn't have as much pistachio flavor as I would have expected using a total of 2 boxes of pudding mix. I served it for St. Patrick's Day, most people thought it was okay, but I ended up throwing about a third of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trappedinMN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Reminds me of the cake my mother used to make me! Very delicate crumb; I baked it in two 8" layers and it was tricky keeping the layers together. I'm sure as a bundt cake it's perfect! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Just tastes like any old cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Add 3 boxes of pudding butter pecan cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My grandma used to make this for me, I have such fond memories of it! She would always fill the hole with the frosting, & I'm pretty sure she flavoured the cake mix with almond extract or something, because as I remember it the whole thing was quite pistachio-y. Green food colouring for the batter is a must too, if you're making for the family. Really helps with the presentation. Thanks for posting, I can hardly wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this cake this weekend for a get together and it was a hit. It was wonderful in a very understated way. When you ate it, you realized it was good and light, super moist but you didn't want to smear it all over yourself - not that good. BUT both me and my husband, after leaving the cake at a friends house kept thinking about and craving this cake - it's special that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
There wasn't enough genuine pistachio flavor for me because I only used the pudding mix and no actual nuts in the cake. People are really surprised by the flavor choice, but pleasantly so. Extremely easy to make, and a great idea that I might apply to other cake mixes with different pudding flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States